Day 13 – A band or artist that has got me through some tough ass days


My Day 13 entry on my “30 days of truth” journey. Day 13 → A band or artist that has gotten you through some tough ass days. (write a letter)

Dear Barbra, do you remember that day 11 years ago when my world was falling apart? I had a 5 year old daughter and a 12 month old son to care for and my marriage was in trouble. Looking back I think I was suffering from post-natal depression but at the time I just knew I was suffering. Do you remember how one afternoon I sat in my armchair with my son on my knee and you sang to me? I listened to your CD two or three times through – I don’t remember exactly how many – and my usually boisterous son sat quietly on my knee. It took a couple of tracks for the tears to come but when they did, boy did they come!! Do you remember that I just held my son and watched it getting dark outside? I couldn’t move, I just held him and I cried. And cried and cried and cried. And all the time you sang to me. You told me about Higher Ground, and to Trust Him (you and Celine together). You sang to me that I would Never Walk Alone and I believed you. Well, a small part of me believed you but it was the part that was buried deep under layers of exhaustion, hunger, need, mistrust, anger, hurt and frustration.

It was only years later after my bubble burst and I got professional help that I started to heal and you were there again, Barbra! You sang to me about Sleeping Bees and Secondhand Rose and I trusted you again. Your voice got me through those times and whenever I listen to that CD now I remember the strength within me and the helplessness fades into the background.

Thank you for getting me through that day. Without you I wouldn’t have cried. Without crying I wouldn’t have broken. Without being broken I wouldn’t have got the help I needed. And without that help I wouldn’t be here today.

Thank you for giving me back my life xx

The Essential Barbra Streisand

Image via Wikipedia

One thought on “Day 13 – A band or artist that has got me through some tough ass days

  1. The artist who got me through a lot of tough ass days, especially when I was younger, had to be Janis Ian; that said, however, I have always loved Barbara. Let me count the ways 1..2..3…………………..100………

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

