Wednesday Hodgepodge – 25th July


My first Hodgepodge for a while, hope you enjoy my answers!! If you’d like to join in then please click the button below and follow Joyce’s instructions. Everybody is welcome.

 

 

1. The Summer Olympics officially begin this Friday…will you be watching? If you could see just one event in person which one would you pick?

I love the Olympics!! And yes I will most definitely be watching as much of it as I can. So far this summer my kids have had to suffer watching endless days of cricket (test matches), golf (The Open), tennis (Wimbledon), cycling (Tour de Giro and Tour de France), darts (World Matchplay) and football (Euro 2012). I’ve turned into a bit of a sport nut I think!

When the Commonwealth Games were hosted in my home city, Manchester, in 2002 we got tickets to go and see the track and field events one day. It was a fantastic experience and was really entertaining. So if I had to choose just one event in person I could see of the Olympics I would do that again. If I could have another option I would go and see the diving.

2. Do lazy days make you feel rested or unproductive?

It depends. There is relaxing and refreshing laziness, which is a good thing, and then there is bone idleness  which is not. If I have had a busy spell and have not touched base at home for a while then a “day off” is great and I welcome it. If I am just in one of those moods where I can’t be bothered then I feel horrible with myself and am generally very unforgiving of those days.

3. July 25 is ‘officially’ Threading the Needle day…can you sew? On a scale of 1-10 with 1 being not at all and 10 being Betsy Ross-like, how would you rate your skill with a needle and thread?

I am fairly handy with a needle to be honest and what I lack in delicacy and finesse I more than make up for with enthusiasm and effectiveness! Sewing on buttons and badges and turning up hems etc are pretty easy for me as are things like mending and repairing things, but I wouldn’t dream of hand-sewing a garment from scratch. I am ok on a sewing machine and have made lots of things over the years. Baby clothes for my daughter to start with and various things like curtains for my caravan and toys for the kids more recently.

4. Threading the Needle can also mean to walk a fine line between two things or issues (think awkward social situation). When was the last time you had to ‘thread the needle’, figuratively speaking?

There is a delicate situation developing within our little family at the moment that needs some delicate handling and I don’t feel that I am handling it the right way. I’m doing my best but every time something crops up I feel like I’m on a tightrope and could fall off either side if I put a foot (or word) wrong. Tricky.

5. Kidney, pinto, black, or navy-your favourite bean?

I’m not a bean lover really, other than good old Heinz ones that come in tomato sauce in tins! I’ve never heard of navy beans, they do sound rather exotic.

6. Have you ever hosted a garage sale? Was it more success or bust?

We don’t have garage sales as such here in England but we do have car-boot sales. It’s a similar thing but instead of hosting it on your own premises you take your goods to a pre-arranged location with hundreds of other people and sell out of your own car boot, hence the title. I did one with Kevin once and it was the strangest experience of my life.

We had to be there at 5am to get a good pitch and it was barely light when we arrived. As we were getting things out of the car and trying to arrange them on the table we’d brought with us we were accosted (and I choose that word deliberately…) by a weird woman with a woolly hat and sunglasses on. Yes, sunglasses. At dawn. In the dark. She was picking through everything as we put it down, mumbled something over EVERY item, put it down somewhere else and was complaining that we didn’t have what she was looking for all the time we were setting up.

We ended up giving up and getting back in the car and leaving the setting up until she’d moved on. She didn’t buy anything from us, and as far as I know she didn’t buy anything from the other 100 or so cars either. Strange woman!

7. What makes you roll your eyes?

Public flirting. Or as we say up North, “billing and cooing” at each other. Especially if it’s between people who should know better.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

My son broke up from school yesterday and we had our traditional end of term lunch in town. We went to the Cafe Rouge in the Printworks for an extra special treat and had a great time. Not that that is part of my random thought, I just thought I’d share that with you for a bit of background to the real random thought, coming up.

I decided that this holiday my son would not suffer the boredom that he has done for every other holiday so far this year and we would have a Definite Plan to see ourselves through the next 6 weeks together. (His previous holidays have seen me being ill and not able to do much of anything and he has had to fend for himself mainly). So we decided that we would have an activity hat and we would pull out an activity each night to do the next day. He drew up this list:

  • Watch the new Batman Film
  • Make some sorbet
  • Bake something
  • Go and see Ice Age 4
  • Watch a film off the sky box/ server
  • Go swimming at the Aquatics Centre
  • Go to Bury Swimming baths
  • TRAVEL DAY (Tram/ Train/ Bus)
  • Harry Potter Movie Marathon
  • Play on just dance 1 or 2
  • Play on wii
  • Go to town for the day
  • Put a DVD on
  • Go to the driving range
  • Do nothing
  • Read a book( 1 chapter each)
  • Do some Music work (Composing, Theory, Garageband, playing)

I’m really impressed at his little list, he’s really thought about what he wants to do and he’s chosen things we can do together and not necessarily that are physically demanding for me. He’s a good lad isn’t he?!

Today’s activity was “do nothing” by the way… but we ignored that and we’ve had a nice day pottering about and he’s being playing squash with a tennis ball against the side of the house. We’ve just pulled tomorrow’s activity and it looks like we’re off to see Ice Age 4. Woohoo!!!

 

 

11 thoughts on “Wednesday Hodgepodge – 25th July”

  1. A car-boot sale sounds a lot like a flee market – lots of people selling their items at one place. Personally I think it is a great idea! I’m a new reader from the Hodgepodge party and I love the way you write :) Your choice of works is very poetic! Happy Wednesday!

  2. For just ONE event it’d have to be Decathalon, cos I still remember watching Daley Thompson, crikey that shows how old I am.

    1. Thank Joyce! I’m sure it will be a great spectacle when all the hype and holler has died down. We Brits are brilliant at doing ourselves down and to hear our native press you’d think that we’re not fit for purpose. Ha! Watch and see :)

  3. That is a great list he put together & I think it is very wise to have a plan to help keep boredom away! I will have to try Cafe Rouge I have not been there yet.

    1. We have spent too many holidays wondering what we can do and we usually end up at the end of them thinking, blimey, we could have done this or that, so this time we’re trying to be ahead of the game :)

  4. He sounds like a good son. :) Enjoy your time together!

    Navy beans, btw, are actually not all exotic here in the US. They are small and white, and are so called because they were a major food for sailors in the US navy at one time.

    1. Ah! Thanks for the explanation. It makes more sense that they are for the Navy rather than blue colour :)

      And thank you, we’re having a good time so far this holiday!

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

