Christmas Eve Eve Eve


It’s nearly here….Christmas is coming!

As if you didn’t know.

Silly season (as the period leading up to Christmas is affectionately known in my house) is nearly over, and except for Messy Church at 2pm on Christmas Eve we have managed to get through everything so far.

Today was the pinnacle for me – our Carol Service tonight at church was magnificent. Maybe it’s because I had such an involvement with the music this time, but there was something extra special about tonight’s service.

It is always a privilege to be able to perform in church and tonight was an extra privilege for me because the four of us – Kevin, Emma, Ethan and myself – played together in a brass quartet for the carols. I produced a couple of backing tracks so we could play the descants to O Come All Ye Faithful and Hark The Herald Angels Sing and still have all the parts covered. It was fantastic to play – I just hope it came across well enough!

The best for me was when we played Silent Night. We played it just us four – Kevin and Emma on cornet, Ethan on trombone playing the bass line and me playing the euphonium and covering the tenor line. We clicked into phrasing and breathing together quite nicely and it was a joy to play.

The theme of the address was about being real. We were shown a video of the Velveteen Rabbit, which I’ve included below if you would like to see it yourself. Eddie our minister drew parallels with it and the Christmas story, where love became real.

In the video, the velveteen rabbit asks if love hurts, to which he receives the answer, “sometimes”. Very thought provoking.

Tomorrow is Christmas Eve Eve, which means it is the “Big Shop” for us. Food shopping first thing in the morning and then home to finish off decorating the house. We have managed to get the tree up and the garland boxes are out of the loft (finally) but they are far from being put up. Roll on tomorrow afternoon!

Opening credits until about 33 seconds in, but well worth watching this if you have 5 minutes to spare.

Blessings to you and yours.

 

3 thoughts on “Christmas Eve Eve Eve

  1. Your Carol service does sound magnificent, Pam. So right now you are going to be busy with final preparations for Christmas. Wishing you and your family a very enjoyable Christmas!

    • Thank you Uta! You must have heard me – I was just talking about you with my husband. I was just saying to him I must reply to your messages, and how you were cooling off in the sea in your very hot summery weather! You must have heard me haha!! Thank you so much for your comments. We have got a few more things to do for church yet and then we can relax and enjoy some family time over Christmas, although it does help that we can all play together in a little band because we can combine “duty” and family together. I’m privileged to have the husband and children I do. God bless you Uta. I hope you have a lovely Christmas too… And it does sound strange to say this, but enjoy the sunshine!! Your friend, Pam xx

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

