A Fresh Start


Happy New Year!!

happy new year 2014 2

New Year – new page in the calendar – new start – clean slate.

All these things spring to mind when we get to January 1st each year. Many people will make resolutions to change things about themselves they are unhappy with, or with situations that are unhealthy in their lives. For the vast majority of people, New Year resolutions usually involve some sort of lifestyle overhaul so perhaps they would aim to give up smoking, or go on a diet, or take up a new sport in order to change things. The vast majority of these people fall by the wayside in the weeks ahead and generally speaking, those who have made a New Year resolution to do one of these things have given up by 10th January. Yes that’s right – nine days from now.

There are people who resolve to change something about themselves and their behaviour, and there seems to be some evidence that this sort of change is more sustainable. For example those who vow to involve themselves in charitable work, or to mend a broken relationship seem to have more success. There may be something in the fact that inward-looking resolutions break down earlier and easier than outward-looking ones. Maybe doing something for other people is more compatible with change than doing something for ourselves.

Perhaps it has something to do with making changes out of regrets from the past: do we need to go on a diet or take up a new sport because we regret the things we have eaten or the shape our bodies are in now? Do we regret a broken relationship because of our behaviour towards a certain someone in the past?

The Lord says, “Forget what happened before, and do not think about the past. Look at the new thing I am going to do. It is already happening. Don’t you see it? I will make a road in the desert and rivers in the dry land”. ISAIAH 43:18-19

I’m inclined to interpret that passage that we shouldn’t be too hard on ourselves when it comes to committing to change, or regretting what has happened in the past. We should be confident that any changes that need to happen in our lives are already happening and we should look to the future not the past.

Whatever your plans for the coming months, or whatever resolutions you have made this year, I hope that you will be blessed in your endeavours. Do not regret the past and look ahead to a joyous future.

Happy New Year everyone.

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “A Fresh Start

  1. I am one of those who is changing her behavior. I have decided to stay off of Facebook for at least 30 days..due to all the nonsense etc on there. I will stick to my blogging. Thank you for the Bible/Scripture verse, exactly what I need to see. Blessings

  2. Happy New Year! I’ve been thinking about resolutions as well. I just calculated that if I waste only 30 minutes a day online then that is 7.6 days – more than a WEEK!!! . Wow, what could I do with that week? I know there’s a lot of good online and I really enjoy connecting with people, such as you, but I think that my goal for 2014 is to cut back a lot on my (non-productive) internet time. You will still be a part of my online routine though for sure. :)

    • Thank you Mary :) I hope to keep you entertained this year! I am shocked at the amount of time I spend online too – I added it up and it is astronomical! Yet I don’t ever seem to have anything productive from it….that is something that has GOT to change this year.

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

