Kitchen Remodelling – Part 2


As promised, here’s an update on the old kitchen situation:

After much weighing up and umming and ahhing last night, the first wall of cupboards was completely stripped last night and all the tiles were taken off. The living room is like a bombsite with all the boxes of kitchen stuff and to make it worse I had to go shopping today for supplies. There’s nowhere to put things and I’ve not got a lot of prep space for food so my shopping list was mainly things like microwaveable rice and tins of curry. Got lots of things to put on toast and a couple of treats (chocolate covered, naturally) to bulk up the weekend’s diet. My mum has said she’ll cook for us on Sunday which is a huge relief. Thank you Mum!!

Here’s a look at the work in progress last night:

Kevin and Sam dismantling the cupboards on the east wall

 

Taking down the architrave from the top of the cupboards

How BAD is this wall??!

 

As you can see, there’s quite a bit of work to be done to make this wall sound yet, but we’re pressing on with it. The plan tonight is to remove the cupboards from the west wall and to remove all the artex from all the walls and the ceiling. Oh boy the ceiling…can’t wait to see what state that’s in!!

Sam was keen to get cracking with all the tile removal:

From this...

 

...to this in about 15 minutes!!

 

Notice how dark it is outside? Yup, it was getting a bit late by then so it was time to call it a night.  More tomorrow after today’s efforts.

I anticipate a lot of dust tonight *cough* *cough* *splutter* *splutter* but I’ll try to get some decent pics as the artex comes off. My kitchen won’t be red any more hurrah!!!!

 

 

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kitchen Remodelling – Part 2

  1. auntyuta says:

    It sure looks like a lot of work. Your pictures tell it all. It will be good to see the finished job. Enjoy your Mum’s cooking on Sunday!

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

