Santa Lucia


It is Santa Lucia Day today – or St Lucy’s Day for those of us who are not Italian!

English: ST LUCIA ON CHURCH OF ST LUCIA IN LUCIA

Image via Wikipedia

Celebrated (unusually) in Scandinavian countries like Sweden, Santa Lucia’s Day is the Christian feast day of St Lucy who was martyred for refusing to give up her virginity. She is the patron saint of those who are blind because she wanted to consecrate her life to God and when she refused to marry a pagan husband he had her eyes put out with a fork. Nice man. St Lucy is also only one of seven women to be mentioned by name in the Catholic Canon of the Mass.

Her name – Lucy – means “lux”, or “light”. To Scandinavians light, especially at this time of the year is particularly precious and today is the day that the pre-Gregorians observed the Winter Solstice which is the beginning of the return of light.

We now know that the solstice is 21st or the 22nd December, only a couple of days before the Western Christian people celebrate Christmas.

Christmas is the feast to celebrate the birth of Jesus who is the light of the world.

I invite you to welcome the light into your heart today to illuminate the darkness within. It only takes one pin-prick of light in the darkness to make all the difference.

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Christianity and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Santa Lucia

  1. pattisj says:

    Great, informative post, Pam.

    Like

  2. Maxi Malone says:

    St. Lucy is a role model for young women; she gives new meaning to “this little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine.”

    Thanks for sharing.

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

