Wednesday Hodgepodge – 4th Jan


 

You know the drill by now – click the button, copy the questions, answer them on your own blog then link back to Joyce so we can all compare our answers. Come on in!!!

1. What are three words you would use to describe your 2011?

TRANSFORMATION

ENLIGHTENED

REVEALING

2. Do you like shrimp? What’s your favourite way to have it prepared?

Shrimps are different in England than they are in the USA, and I think the nearest equivalent to an American shrimp would be a prawn. The shrimps we have here are tiny and brown and are usually eaten with crusty bread and butter, with or without vinegar or lemon juice to counteract their saltiness. I prefer to eat prawns and I don’t mind how they are cooked. I love them in salads, with garlic and chilli sauces, barbecued, with other fish in a fish pie, on their own with a bit of Marie Rose dressing…the list is pretty endless.

3. Is your house de-Christmassed? If so, when did you tackle that job? If not, when will the decorations come down?

It is mostly de-Christmassed now. Just got the tree to take down and put away but the  feeling of the holiday mood is still in the house. We are all fairly relaxed still and we aren’t quite done with the feasting yet!

4. Do you like to watch scary movies?

Scary as in horror – no. Scary as in suspense – yes.

5. ice skating~sledding~ skiing~snowboarding…of the four listed which wintertime activity do you most enjoy?

For sheer exhilaration you can’t beat skidding downhill on a bit of an old tea-tray and no brakes. I have never been skiing or snowboarding because both of those have always been beyond my budget. I quite like ice-skating but the last time I went I fell and injured my knee so badly I needed 6 months of physiotherapy so I’m a bit nervous about doing it again.

6. Did you have a childhood hideout? Describe it.

I used to spend a lot of time up a tree in the garden when I was a kid. It’s not as romantic as it sounds I assure you, but there was a particular arrangement of branches that gave a great seat to sit on where I could read in peace, and the foliage gave great cover from passersby. It was not unheard of for me to give people the odd scare from my hidey hole…mwahahaha!

7. What’s a place or space that motivates you?

The open air. Like Joyce, I am inspired by water whether that’s the sea or a local pond, but I seem to get more energised simply by being outdoors full stop. Inspiration vs Engergised….now there’s a topic for a blog post sometime!

8. Insert your own random thought here.

Did you know that the song “The Twelve Days of Christmas” could be interpreted like this:

Gift                                              Interpretation

A partridge in a pear tree           Jesus

Two turtle doves                         The Old and New Testaments

Three French hens                     The three kings bearing gifts

Four calling [sic] birds                The four Gospels

Five gold rings                             The Pentateuch, the first five books of the Old Testament

Six geese a-laying                        The six days of Creation

Seven swans a-swimming          Seven gifts of the Holy Spirit

Eight maids a-milking                 The eight Beatitudes

Nine ladies dancing                      Nine fruits of the Holy Spirit

Ten lords a-leaping                      The Ten Commandments

Eleven pipers piping                    The eleven faithful Apostles

Twelve drummers drumming   The twelve points of the Apostles’ Creed

Makes you think doesn’t it?!

6 thoughts on “Wednesday Hodgepodge – 4th Jan

Add yours

  1. I’ve never seen that 12 Days of Christmas story before…thanks for sharing. I will think of that when I hear the song from now on.

    The ‘shrimp’ thing took me a little while to figure out in the UK. Also, scampi in the US is typically a garlic and butter type sauce around baked shrimp and in the UK that word on a menu meant fried. I love it both ways : )

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama! All images on the site are copyright to Brendan. Please credit any useage, or ask.

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

