Top 10 Dishes


My Kids’ Top 10 Home-cooked Dishes

I don’t usually go in for top 10-type posts but I thought I would try and mix things up a bit today and give you a food related top 10. Because I’m in a foodie frame of mind.

Here are the Top 10 dishes that my kids love and I love cooking for them. As this is a list off the top of my head and there has been NO planning whatsoever gone into this post I don’t have any pictures. I may come back to this idea in a future post and I promise I will prepare better for it and have illustrations next time!

1. Paella – I found a simple recipe for this in a book that was given out to all school children about four years ago. Over time I have adapted it to our own particular tastes and now it’s one of those dishes where no matter how big I make it there’s never quite enough!

2. Three bean soup – adapted from my sister-in-law Debbie’s recipe, this is dead straightforward, tasty, filling, cheap to make, low fat, high protein, too-good-to-be-true yumminess in a bowl.

3. Cauliflower Cheese – cauliflower prepared just so, steamed to perfection and bathed in my infamous hand-made-from-scratch cheese sauce and then browned in the oven gently until the rest of the meal is ready, this is a WINNER.

4. Butternut and Carrot Soup – sometimes firey, sometimes gently spiced, sometimes a little sweet (toned down with sour cream) and sometimes chunky, sometimes smooth. This with a hunk of homemade bread is a weekend favourite. I did a huge vat of this for the Harvest lunch at church last year and it went down a treat there too.

5. Gooey Onions and Chicken – this is one of those dishes that evolved over time and now is a bit like the paella in that no matter how much I make there is never enough. The kids love this one. Long slices of chicken browned in a little oil and garlic and removed from the pan; long slices of onions and peppers (any and all colours) in the same pan cooked slowly until they are sweetly translucent and then add the chicken back to it with some chicken stock and secret flavourings. Cook it all until the whole lot is sticky and gooey and lovely, and then serve it in tortillas with sour cream and salsa. Or on its own with potatoes or rice. Or just on its own. We have had this one in the caravan a couple of times and there’s a fight for the jammy scrapings in the pan.

6. Tabbouleh Salad – bulgar wheat, cucumber, tomatoes, coriander, mint, lemon juice, chicken stock, salt, pepper and love. Gorgeous gorgeous gorgeous. I don’t think I make it traditionally but who cares?! My kids love the way I do it and that’s good enough for me.

7. Crispy Tuna Bake – it is exactly as the title suggests. It’s made with tuna, it’s crispy and it is finished in the oven. You will never look at a packet of cheese and onion crisps the same way again once you have tasted this, I promise!

8. Mushroom Risotto – usually we have this with sausages but it’s just as good on its own. Not made it for a while….must rectify that soon.

9. Potato Skins – nothing fancy, nothing out of this world but rather good, even if I do say so myself. Bacon, onion, cheese and the scooped out potato are smashed together and then put back into the skin before going back in the oven with more cheese on top. Oh. My. Word. These are to die for!

10. Rocky Road – again, another variation on a traditional but the kids love it so I’m not arguing! Melted chocolate, broken biscuits, mini marshmallows, raisins and sultanas, butter and cream all go into this one. Occasionally a little bit of Bailey’s to bring out the chocolatey taste but that version is strictly NOT for the kids!!

I have enjoyed thinking about my top 10 favourite dishes for home and I think I will be doing this again, but this time with photographs. Maybe as a series of recipes if you, my dear readers, would like to have them to try for yourselves?

I hope you enjoyed hearing about my family’s favourite foods. Please share yours with me too. I’m especially looking to try out some traditional American home-cooked food. Thank you.

3 thoughts on “Top 10 Dishes

Add yours

  1. Hi Pat, just have been looking through a lot of your posts and they all seem so very interesting to me. I have to catch up with all of them when I have a bit more time. For now I just want to wish you a very HAPPY NEW YEAR and keep enjoying your blogging! You’re very good at it indeed. Love Uta

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama! All images on the site are copyright to Brendan. Please credit any useage, or ask.

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

