Psalm 139


I wanted to share these words with you because we sang them during our morning worship earlier today. We had a few visitors this morning because there was a baptism, and so to get the service underway Eddie our minister told a brilliant little story about how with power from God, little seeds can become something magnificent. He demonstrated it, with a little help from some children, with a microwave and some popcorn…and it was FANTASTIC!!! What an awesome practical illustration of God’s power.

After that we sang “Our God Is A Great Big God”, complete with actions. The words of the chorus are something like “He knew me and he loved me/even before I was born”, which tied in beautifully with the Psalm we sang later on. These words are in song form but they are so close to the original I’m not going to quibble.

I love the sentiment of this and it gives me comfort and strength to know that I am not alone, and indeed have never ever been alone. I hope you find some strength from it too.

Psalm 139

O God, you search me and you know me
All my thoughts lie open to your gaze
When I walk or lie down you are before me:
Ever Maker and keeper of my days.

 

You know my resting and my rising,
You discern my purpose from afar,
And with love everlasting you besiege me:
In every moment of life or death, you are.

 

Before a word is on my tongue, Lord,
You have known its meaning through and through.
You are with me beyond my understanding:
God of my present, my past and future too.

 

Although your Spirit is upon me,
Still I search for shelter from your light.
There is nowhere on earth I can escape you:
Even the darkness is radiant in your sight.

 

For you created me and shaped me,
Gave me life within my mother’s womb.
For the wonder of who I am I praise you:
Safe in your hands, all creation is made anew.
 
 
 
About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Christianity and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Psalm 139

  1. pattisj says:

    That’s a great illustration your minister did. Our pastor uses props or builds things, or the thing that inspired his message. Sometimes he dresses as an historical character and speaks oratorically. It definitely holds everyone’s attention. Love that Psalm. Thanks for sharing the Word, Pam.

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

