Wednesday Hodgepodge – 18th January


 

1. A new Miss America was crowned on Saturday night-did you watch? If you were a contestant what would your talent be?

No, I didn’t watch. The whole concept of pageants is foreign to me…well, it was until I started watching Toddlers and Tiaras on Dmax. I can’t make up my mind whether to be gladdened or horrified. Until I started to watch it, and therefore get some understanding of what it’s all about, the only thing I knew about pageants was the little bits of news items that had made it over the Atlantic, such as the story of JonBenet Ramsey. I’m not sure it’s the sort of thing that would catch on over here but if it did you can rest assured that the Pamster will NOT be queuing to participate! My talent? Hmmm…good question. I am musical and creative in lots of ways, and I am compassionate and empathetic, but which one of those traits would win me a contest? Not sure.

2. Do you have houseplants? Real or fake?

I do have houseplants. Or “survivors” as I like to call them. I have Vera – she’s an aloe plant – and Gracie, who is an aspidistra. I seem to have attracted a small clutch of indestructible cactus plants as well which have survived the winter out on the deck (I forgot I’d put them out there a couple of months ago  – oops!). Who’d’ve thought cactii can survive frost and snow?!

3. When you were in school did you speak up or were you more of the hide your face, avoid eye contact, and pray the teacher didn’t call on you type of student?

I enjoyed school for the most part and I loved pretty much all of my lessons. I didn’t usually like to put myself forward to answer questions in class, but when the teacher asked a direct question I was usually happy to answer it out loud. The only lesson I didn’t enjoy and therefore was backwards at coming forwards, was Art. It’s funny because I love drawing now, I have a reasonable appreciation for art and art history, and I have developed a passable skill in wielding a paintbrush, but back in my school days it was a totally out-of-my-world experience and I hated it. I couldn’t understand a thing the teacher spoke about and I couldn’t translate anything he said into anything of any value.

I hated PE too and always tried to stand at the back so the teacher didn’t pick on me for a demonstration, but that’s a whole other session of therapy!

4. Next Monday marks the Chinese New Year….what do you order when someone suggests Chinese food?

From the takeaway I order chow mein, special fried rice, salt and pepper chicken and usually mushrooms in oyster sauce. Depending on how many that is to feed I will sometimes supplement it with maybe chicken in blackbean sauce or something with a spring onion and ginger sauce. Got to have prawn toast and prawn crackers too.

5. How would you define a miracle? What would it take for you to consider something a miracle?

I would define a miracle as something that can only happen by the grace of God.

6. What’s your favourite Disney song? If you’re stuck you’ll find a list here.

There’s almost too many to choose from!! I think as with most other things, it depends on what mood I’m in but I think hand on heart I would say “Hushabye Mountain” is my standout favourite.  Here’s the clip from the film in case you wanted to listen to it:

7. I should have __________yesterday.

“seen the doctor”

8. Insert your own random thought here.

I don’t understand the reasoning behind the blackout today. If there is a proposal to discuss the limitations of freedom of speech on the internet, how does voluntarily limiting your own freedom of speech have any impact on that? Perhaps I only know part of the story but to me it seems a bit like people are shooting themselves in the foot by blacking out their websites today as a demonstration of what it would be like without freedom of speech. Surely it’s better to use your website to say exactly what you think about it rather than not say anything at all?

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Wednesday Hodgepodge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wednesday Hodgepodge – 18th January

  1. Joyce says:

    I need to read a little more about the blackout too. Hope you are feeling better today!

    Like

  2. TLynn says:

    I am SO with you on the P.E. part!!
    Sweet song. I never heard of it before.
    And, I agree with you on the blackout. Makes no sense.
    (Visiting from the Hodgepodge link,)

    Like

  3. kittyhere says:

    I’m American, and I find Toddlers and Tiaras very scary.

    The Wiki blackout is meant to protest proposed legislation here in the U.S. that would protect publishers and ‘intellectual property rights’ on the internet. My understanding is Rupert Murdock is behind the legislation. One of my state senators figures prominently in the debate. I have mixed feelings on the issue.

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

