How To Keep Positive


How To Keep Positive

When you have a long term illness or health condition, from time to time it can become difficult to stay positive. When your positive thinking starts to wear off it can quickly become a problem and it gets harder and harder to get yourself back on track again.

Let me share with you a couple of the things that have kept me going over the last couple of years. Maybe it will help you, or someone you know who is having difficulties:

Be Happy – this sounds really simple, but it’s a trick that I have had to learn. Even when you don’t feel particularly happy, just try. Pretend if you have to! If you put the effort into trying to be happy then there isn’t as much room for misery to set in.

Be Grateful – like the old saying goes, “count your blessings”. By focusing on the things in life that are a blessing will help you realise that it’s not as bad as it feels. Like the happiness point above, it takes effort but it does pay dividends if you can manage it. I am grateful and consider myself blessed to have the supportive family that I have…and I am also very grateful for my big comfy bed. Whatever it is, recognise it and count it for yourself.

Help Someone Else – even though you might not feel like it try extending your hand in friendship or assistance to someone else. It might be your neighbour, a family member, a stranger who needs you for something. Just do it. By helping someone else you are helping yourself in two ways – you are taking the focus off your own problems and you will naturally feel better for being useful to someone.

Exercise – now before you laugh and say “I can’t go jogging!!!” just something simple like bending and stretching is physical activity enough to occupy your body and therefore taking the focus away from negative thinking. It takes an effort, especially if you are in pain, but it is definitely worth it. Take it from me! Why not have a short stroll round the block? Tidy out a cupboard? Or go to the shops? There’s nothing to say you can’t have a treat when you get there!

It’s Only Temporary – just remember that whatever you are experiencing, whether it is good times or bad, poor health or good, loneliness or overcrowding it will pass in time. Nothing lasts forever. If you have tried the suggestions above and they haven’t worked, it is worth keeping in mind that as bad as it feels right now this minute, it will change. Change is part of life and life is in a constant state of flux so if you can’t overcome the negativity right away, don’t worry, it will evolve in its own good time.

There are lots of other things you can do to stay positive, and everybody is different so what works for one person might not work for another. All I can say is that these things are some of the things that have worked for me and I hope they work for you too.

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “How To Keep Positive

Add yours

  1. Thanks for the tips; they’re very valuable to living a fruitful life. Without these important steps, we would all be walking zombies. Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:))

    Like

  2. Very good post and I must bookmark so I can come back and read again and again. I had a tough day yesterday, full of anxiety, and this would have really helped. Thank goodness I had a online friend who gave me a yoga move with breathing exercise that helped.

    Like

    1. I’m sorry to hear you had an anxiety filled day yesterday and I hope that today is better for you. I’m glad to know that you found my words useful and that they may help you in the future. Best wishes Pam 🙂

      Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama! All images on the site are copyright to Brendan. Please credit any useage, or ask.

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

