On Valentine’s Day


Do You Celebrate Valentine’s Day? Why, or Why Not?

I don’t celebrate Valentine’s Day, and really I never have done. I have marked it in the past by giving cards and small gifts but at my age and this far into my marriage (nearly 21 years) it seems a pointless exercise now.

The whole concept of Valentine’s Day is to celebrate romance as much as it is about celebrating love, and I love to see other people being romantic. There is nothing nicer than to see a gesture of romance, but it hasn’t really happened to me and as I say, at my age I think I’m a bit past all that! I am content to know that those I love know I do and I am fairly certain – as certain as anyone can be – that I am loved in return.

I used to feel sorry for myself when it came to the subject of romance, but I think with age comes a certain wisdom and acceptance and it doesn’t bother me any more. I don’t begrudge other people enjoying Valentine’s Day, but it’s not for me.

There is an argument that says Valentine’s Day is (yet another) example of the greeting card companies’ greed and is an over-hyped, manufactured, pressurised false “holiday”, and lots of people use that argument to ignore it. But I think if you look past all the cynicism you will find a genuine reason to celebrate, and I do mean celebrate, the love you have for someone and you should go out and yell it from the rooftops.

But who was St Valentine? The first time St Valentine’s name appeared was in the story about a priest who continued to marry Christian couples in secret in Rome during the reign of Claudius II. I guess that’s where the whole idea of “secret love” comes from, which is delightful. He had an unfortunate end though – he was stoned and beaten to near death but when that failed he was hanged. Not a pleasant way to go, especially for one who stood up for love. A lesson for us all maybe.

Powered by Plinky

2 thoughts on “On Valentine’s Day

Add yours

  1. Valentine’s Day can be tough for little kids & teens, even 20-somethings who feel like the odd ones out for not being popular, or having a special someone. Headed towards 27 years of marriage I agree a steamy sense of romance is no likely to be in my cards. But given that my hubby handed me a heart shaped box of dark chocolate this morning I am not writing the ‘holiday’ off entirely.

    I hope someone shows you a little kindness today that warms your heart at least a little!

    Like

  2. Oh Pam, be thrilled that “you are here” this Valentine’s Day; celebrate that you can love and be loved…

    Valentine’s is our 36th anniversary, but my beloved David is not here…

    Blessings – Maxi

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama! All images on the site are copyright to Brendan. Please credit any useage, or ask.

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

