Top 5 30 Day Challenge – Day 1


So here we are, day 1 of the first 30 day challenge of the year. Today’s topic is:

Day One: Top Five Favourite Excuses

You might already know this but I used to work in a secondary school and one of my duties was to do the daily “late” duty, ie, standing on the gate in all weathers with my clipboard challenging kids who were late to school. I thought it would be a great experience to fall back on to answer this first question in my this new challenge. I must have heard thousands of different excuses as to why kids were late to school in my time on that duty but the most common ones are these below. I did hear some other more colourful excuses, such as “I had to go and get my mum’s methadone prescription before I could come in” or “it’s my birthday and I had to open my cards”, or even “the taxi didn’t turn up”….taxi, TAXI? To SCHOOL????! Yes, I kid you not and yes, I heard it all!!
Anyway, here’s the most common excuses I heard for kids being late to school:
  1. I had to take my younger brother/sister to school first
  2. The bus was late
  3. I didn’t think we were in school today until I saw some other kids walking past my house in their uniforms and I realised we were back in today
  4. My alarm didn’t go off
  5. The bus driver wouldn’t let me on

Aren’t kids great? Haha!

 

 

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Top 5 30 Day Challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Top 5 30 Day Challenge – Day 1

  1. diggingher says:

    Fun! Really like the bus driver story:)

    Like

  2. pattisj says:

    I thought the bus driver was rather funny, too.

    Like

  3. viviellevirgule says:

    I’m a teaching assistant at my university and I get to hold study sessions and kids are supposed to come, but they often don’t so I get to hear a lot of excuses. Perhaps my favorite was “I forgot it was Tuesday.” Love your list, especially “I didn’t think we were in school today until I saw some other kids walking past my house in their uniforms and I realised we were back in today”

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

