Top 5 30 Day Challenge – Day Two


Day Two: Top Five Favourite Books/Series You’ve Read

These are not in any particular order, and they are drawn from my vast experience of reading matter from the last 30 years. I hope they might inspire you to try something new if you have never read any of these before.

1. The Earth’s Children series. Beginning with the Clan of the Cave Bear and ending with The Land of Painted Caves this is an epic story of Ayla, a Neolithic girl who grows up with Neanderthals and then finds her own way in the world eventually. Absolutely stunning with its attention to detail and a fantastic story, well told and well written.

2. Ian Rankin’s Rebus series. Crime thrillers set in Edinburgh with a maverick cop as the protagonist, the whole series of these has never failed to deliver a thumping good read and excellent conclusions/denouements.

3. Chocolat, by Joanne Harris. I don’t know whether it was because of the frame of mind I was in when I read it or just because this book was just magical, but this one has got to be up there on my top 5 list. Atmospheric, romantic, thrilling, sensuous, challenging….wonderful stuff. I’m not a great chocolate lover but I was still swept away and caught up in the whole chocolate shop thing and, as is true with most other successful books, it was the human relationships that really sold it to me.

 

4. Christopher Fowler’s Bryant and May series. This is a series about a pair of aging detectives set in London. The characters themselves are entertaining enough, but the cases they handle are weird, crooked, highly plausible despite their apparent supernaturalness, historical, informative and just downright brilliant. I would highly recommend these if you are looking for something a bit out of the ordinary and I promise you won’t be disappointed.


5. The Time Traveller’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger. This makes it onto my list because of the sheer impact it had on me when I first read it. It’s more than a romance, and it is more than just-another-supernatural yarn. It is sheer genius and I was extremely moved by the human-ness in the relationships in the book and the ending was just one of the most emotional I have ever read. I absolutely loved this one and was hoping that the film version would do it justice….and it did (phew!!).

 

Enjoy!!!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Top 5 30 Day Challenge – Day Two

Add yours

  1. I’ve seen “The Time Traveler’s Wife” pop-up more than once in reader’s lists, so I just reserved a copy at the local library. Thanks for sharing books you’ve enjoyed.

    Like

  2. Bryant & May took me a while to get used to. Gosh, they are a crochetedy pair of old men but well worth reading. I agree that Jean Auel’s books are really good. I can see why she only publishes one every five years.

    Like

  3. I don’t think I’ve heard of any those but The Time Traveler’s Wife. Someday when I have some spare time I’ll to check those out.

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama! All images on the site are copyright to Brendan. Please credit any useage, or ask.

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

