Wednesday Hodgepodge


Welcome to the Wednesday Hodgepodge…be sure to add your link to Joyce’s post so we can all stop by and say hi. Here are my answers to this week’s questions-

 

1. The Hodgepodge falls on the last day of the month this year, a leap year. How will you spend that extra day?

I’m doing my Hodgepodge in the evening this week so there’s not much left of the day to spend so I’ll tell you how I did spent most of my day instead. If you have been following me for the past couple of weeks you’ll know that I have had a particularly prolonged spell of illness and I have been stuck indoors for most of that time. Well…..good news….today I went out with my Mum and we had a very enjoyable time travelling to and mooching around Bury market. I absolutely LOVED it being out of the house during the day and even though I ended up lay down on the settee and dosing up on tramadol for pain afterwards, I wouldn’t have swapped today for the world.  I had a great time nattering with my Mum and I have stocked up on some basic yarn that I need for making my baby blankets. Really reasonable prices too, so I’ve not spent a fortune but I have got plenty of scope now to go full steam ahead. I also picked up a ham shank for £2 (there’s two meals worth of meat there) and some Bury black puddings for tea. We had added entertainment on the way home when the bus driver had an argument with a car driver at a busy road junction whereby he “invited” the car driver to come and “move the bus” if he “thought he could find room” on the other side of the junction for him. Or words to that effect…… haha!!

2. What has recently required a leap of faith on your part?

At the moment, every time I step foot outside the door is a leap of faith. Seriously.

3. We’re one week into the season of Lent…are you marking these forty days in some way? Giving something up or adding something extra to normal life? How’s it going so far?

I am adding a daily Bible reading/study into Lent this year. I know there are some people who do this every day anyway but for me it’s something new. I have always been a bit lost when it comes to reading and studying the Bible – my faith is based largely on the bits of scripture I learned as a child at Sunday School and my own spirituality so by revisiting the building blocks of Christianity in Lent will hopefully cement it all together.

4. When was the last time you sat beside a fire?

It would have been when we had a party on the deck last Autumn. We had the chiminea lit and we sat out until way after dark. Must do that again sometime soon now the weather is getting milder again.

5. Surf and turf is on the menu. Do you order as is or do you ask for just the surf (lobster), just the turf (steak) or a menu so you can select another option?

I don’t know!! I’ve never eaten lobster although I would like to try it sometime and restaurants that offer surf or turf on the menu are largely out of my price-range and experience.

6. If you could have any television show back, not in reruns but in new episodes, what program would you choose?

I would love to see the continuation of Life on Mars and Ashes to Ashes. Unfortunately, it was all explained at the end of the last series of Ashes to Ashes so there’s no mystery any more, but I absolutely love the retro feel to the series and I am definitely a Gene Genie fan *hubba hubba*.

7. They say an elephant never forgets. These days would you say your memory is more like an elephant or a gnat?

My memory isn’t too bad still but I’ll tell you what really has gone wild is my ability to concentrate. I used to be able to juggle a dozen balls all at the same time and be able to concentrate on all of them at the same time but nowadays I am rubbish. I find it difficult to even begin concentrating on a task sometimes and my attention wanders all over the place when I do settle down to something. Not sure why that is – is it my age? Hormones? Medication? Has my brain gone into hibernation mode because I’m not working?? Oooh look a shiny….!

8. Insert your own random thought here.

I stumbled across the American version of One Born Every Minute last night and I was struck by the similarities and the differences between it and the British version. In terms of TV programming it was more or less the same – fly on the wall style filming, family interviews before the big event etc – but in terms of the way that the birth itself is handled the American way is totally different to the British way. It was much more of a medical procedure than the way the Brits do things. Even the “natural” deliveries were huge affairs with gowned-up doctors in attendance and giving instructions instead of leaving it to the mother and the midwife. I wonder why that is? I would be interested to hear what my American ladies say about the way they gave birth and how it felt personally – did it feel like it was a natural process or did it feel like you were on the end of a medical procedure that was totally run by the doctors?

Jamie Lee Curtis as narrator was brilliant by the way 🙂

 

 

 

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Wednesday Hodgepodge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Wednesday Hodgepodge

  1. April says:

    I love “One Born Every Minute”! I’ve never seen the British version of it, though. Have a good one!

    Like

  2. diggingher says:

    Never had lobster huh? Hope you get to experience in the near future.

    I hope that your daily bible reading is rich. Trust that God will meet you on the pages of His love story and speak to your heart.

    Paige

    Like

  3. mitchypoo says:

    I’m sorry you are having such a hard time and in pain. That’s tough. But I’m glad you had a good day today!

    Like

  4. First time visiting you and I’m so sorry to hear that your health is a concern for you. I pray you get more days outside soon. Never heard of “One Born Every Minute” but our son was born here in the states and our daughter was born in England. That was different……
    I hope you feel enriched by your Bible reading.

    Like

  5. Maxi Malone says:

    It warmed my heart to read how much you enjoyed the day out with your Mum; a day of joy amid all your pain. My prayers are with you, Pam, that you get well soon.

    Blessings – Maxi

    Like

  6. ttmillers says:

    Hi! I am visiting from Wednesday Hodgepodge. First time on your blog. I was sorry to read about your health. Get well soon!!

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

