Top 5 30 Day Challenge – Day 6


Day Six: Top Five Things That Happened To You So Far This Year

Sorry for the gap in posts, but here we are with day 6 of the Top 5 30 Day Challenge.

For this one, as it is only March, I am going to take “top” as “most significant” things that have happened to me this year. Here goes:

1. I have finally got an explanation for my abdominal pain and it doesn’t look particularly promising. I have got to have another scan in 6 months time to check on the progress of several “growths” in and around my biliary system. I am told they are not likely to be cancerous (thank the Lord!) but there is a niggling little voice at the back of my mind that keeps echoing the word “likely”….

2. I have successfully run a series of Sunday School classes for the children at my church. It’s particularly significant a) given the health problems above, and b) because my self-confidence has been at an all time low. I have learned an awful lot from the experience and I have felt myself grow spiritually as well as in confidence.

3. I lost my hero at the beginning of this month. I have spoken about him before, but my Dad’s older brother, David, lost his brief but brutal battle with liver cancer on March 6th.  As well as being a personal bereavement, the loss of David has caused a seismic shift in the dynamic of our family.

4. My son’s voice has broken in recent weeks. I count this as significant because, as any mother will tell you, as my youngest he is therefore my baby no matter how old he is. He turned 13 in January and he changed into a very reticent, awkward and gangly youth with a croaky, husky voice literally overnight. My little baby boy has gone forever and emerging (slowly and with much deodorant and shower gel) is my son, the man.

5. Connected to number 4, my relationship with my husband is currently undergoing a change. We seem to be coming to an end of the relentless “parenting” that we have done for the past 19 years, and our worry and stress is becoming replaced with other things. For instance, we have both attended the Alpha course recently – 12 weeks of spiritual examination and reflection on who/what/why God is – and on Friday night we went to see University Challenge being filmed at the Granada studios in Manchester. Things that we couldn’t have done if our children were still young and needy and it’s nice to find that we are emerging, blinking and wheezing, into the sunlight of a long established friendship. It’s a bit like coming out of an Andersen shelter after a blitz and finding that even though the house has been bombed, the roses in the garden are still blooming in the sunshine.

 

 

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Top 5 30 Day Challenge and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Top 5 30 Day Challenge – Day 6

  1. pattisj says:

    I had to laugh at your analogy in #5, but am glad everything is coming up roses! 🙂 Praying about #1; grace and peace to you, Pam.

    Like

  2. judithatwood says:

    A lovely post! pattisj above stole my line about everything coming up roses, but as long as you got to hear it, that’s what counts. I’m so very happy for your whole family!

    Like

  3. Maxi says:

    I can so relate to #3; I lost my beloved husband of 35yrs. seven months ago. We were told that David had lung cancer in Feb. and he was gone in August. Blessings – Maxi

    Like

  4. auntyuta says:

    I am happy for you that you can do things together with your husband.
    And looks like your son’s growing up fast.
    I have eight grandchildren, The youngest turns fourteen this year.
    Not so long ago she was a baby! Every year seems to pass more quickly as you get older. When you’re young a year seems to take a long time.

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

