Wednesday Hodgepodge – 28th March


Welcome to this week’s Hodgepodge entry. If you would like to join in please click the button below and follow the instructions by Joyce. I promise it will work this week!

1. What’s the last job you did that required elbow grease?

I recently cleaned the grout in between the tiles around the bath. The shower end had got really grotty with the build up of various shower gels and shampoos we all use and so I got stuck in with some spray Flash (with bleach) and a pot brush (which had been left up there from when we were doing the kitchen and were washing the pots in the bathroom sink).

2. March Madness, aka the men’s Division I basketball championship, is nearing an end. What sort of ‘madness’ has your house seen this month?

It’s all been very sane here recently….strangely.

3. What’s your favourite shop for browsing?

I loathe shopping with a passion and so you wouldn’t find me browsing for clothes or shoes or anything like that EVER. However, I am rather partial to the odd book or ten and I could happily spend hours and hours browsing in a bookshop such as Waterstone’s. Ahhhhh bliss!

4. Is there ever a time when giving up makes sense?

Of course there is! Giving up smoking, giving up drinking alcohol, giving up trying to get your own way just to get your own way….lots of things.

5. What’s a song you love that contains the name of a city, state or country in its title?

“Is This The Way To Amarillo” as sung by Tony Christie. It’s a Brit thing – I’m sure many Americans wouldn’t see the attraction with this song but I absolutely love it.

Here’s the Comic Relief version of the video from 2005 by Peter Kay. So funny!!


6. When did you first begin using a computer?

When I was at secondary school, aged about 14 or 15. At that time personal computers were practically unheard of and nobody had them at home. They were being slowly introduced in schools and we were lucky because our school had 6 (gasp!). We had lessons on them in groups of about 5 or 6 in the special classroom where they were installed. Good grief, when you look back and compare it to how things are now…. I’m only 40 but that last answer has made me feel like a dinosaur!!

7. Did you buy girl scout cookies this year? What’s your favourite?

No… But my favourite cookie is the oaty rasiny cookie that you can get from Costco. As you can tell, I’m a classy gal.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

I’m so excited about Palm Sunday this coming Sunday. I am leading the Sunday School session at church and we are going to be making a huge collage using real palm prints for the trees and cut up bits of cloth from real clothes for the road. I have planned ahead and I asked everyone in church last week to contribute to the project by leaving their handprints in poster paint for me to cut out to use in the collage. I was over the moon when almost everyone took part – the oldest contributor was Ernie (nearly 90 yrs old) and the youngest was Eleanor (6 months old). I’ll try and include some photos next week.

I have also got some video clips of Jesus’ entry into Jerusalem, his foot washing of his disciples’ feet, the last supper, the crucifixion and resurrection. I can’t wait!!!

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Postaday2011 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Wednesday Hodgepodge – 28th March

  1. Maxi says:

    The only grout I can’t get clean is the bathroom floor. There was no sealer used on the grout when it was installed … nothing works, even bleach.

    Can you help me, Pam? Have any suggestions? Blessings – Maxi

    Like

  2. Theresa says:

    Yum, those oatmeal raisin cookies sound delish!

    Like

  3. Sounds like its going to be a fantastic Palm Sunday!!!!

    Hey – Costco cookies? You can get a whole lot more for your money compared to Girl Scout! 🙂

    Like

  4. judithatwood says:

    Sorry — the button doesn’t work for me. Maybe include the address when you mention Joyce, so there’s an alternative.

    Like

  5. April says:

    Cleaning tile grout is a major chore and one I don’t necessarily like to do. I’m more of a Thin Mint kind of girl. Have a wonderful day!

    Like

  6. Nani says:

    I have DTs (dead toothbrushes) that I use for the grout on EVERYTHING IN THIS 1950S HOUSE. Sorry about raising my text there. Our kitchen counters are little grouted tiles. Yuck! How did a housewife keep it all clean in the 50s??

    Your collage for church sound magnificent!

    Like

  7. Hootin' Anni says:

    Oh my goodness…you clever girl, you!!!! “giving up”….a whole ‘nother scenario I never thought of. Good for you. Bathroom grout? Ewwwww. Oh, and you and me both had an “Amarillo” song….tho mine was different. LOL

    Like

  8. I’m just dropping by to say hello! I look forward to seeing the alphabet all over your blog in April!

    Konstanz Silverbow
    nothoughts2small.blogspot.com
    A to Z Co-host
    http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

