Wednesday Hodgepodge – 11th April


Welcome to this week’s Hodgepodge! If you want to join in please click the button below and follow Joyce’s instructions on how to link up etc.

1. Have you ever played golf? Any interest in playing? Do you have a significant other who loves to play? Did you watch The Masters this past weekend?

I have played a couple of rounds of golf on a proper course with my friend Phil, been on the pitch and putt course several times in Heaton Park and I have been to the driving range a couple of times too. I really enjoyed it but being a lady of rather large bosoms it was a bit uncomfortable swinging at the tee and I don’t think it would be something I would ever do regularly. My friend plays a lot and I usually get a blow by blow (or a stroke by stroke) post mortem from him from every time he plays so I know quite a bit about it and I understand the ins and outs of the game. I watched the end of the playoff this weekend because I was trying to finish a blanket for my Gran and was staying up for as long as my eyes let me! It finished here in the UK about 1am.

2. Hats are back in fashion this spring…how do you feel about wearing a hat? (fyi-I’m not talking baseball caps) When was the last time you wore one?

I don’t mind wearing a hat. The last time I wore one was one day last week when I took Bella for a walk on the day before the snow came. It was FREEZING outside and I couldn’t feel the tips of my ears.

3. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 meaning proficient and 1 meaning “I’d starve“, how adept are you at using chopsticks?

For style I would score a 1, but for effectiveness I would score around a 5 or 6.

4. Has technology taken over?

In a lot of areas yes, but in the most important ones no. Relationships and family are not at all technology driven and are the most important things to me. Communication and entertainment is a different matter though. Technology has definitely taken over there.

5. In the course of a day how often do you look in a mirror?

I only look in the mirror once and that’s in the morning when I am at the sink in the bathroom. I generally check for the usual things – stray hairs on my chin, the redness of the inside of my eyelids (I’m anaemic) and the colour of my eyeballs (off-white to beige depending on the state of my liver function and pain levels). I don’t like looking at myself at all so tend to avoid looking in mirrors!

6. Tulip or Daffodil?

Daffodils. Definitely.

7. I am proud of myself for surviving.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

Here is my Gran with her new blanket on her lap.  I finished it in the car on the journey to see her (not recommended to crochet on the motorway in the rain) and she was thrilled with it.

As you can see, it matches the plaster cast on her wrist. She fell last weekend and has broken it amongst a couple of other injuries.

She is not doing too well and will have to be cared for full time in a carehome now, which is a sad event for the family in one way because she has been fiercely independent for 97 years. But it is also a relief because we know now that she will be looked after properly and she won’t be on her own if she gets ill or falls again in the future.

She is an inspiration.

 

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Wednesday Hodgepodge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Wednesday Hodgepodge – 11th April

  1. Beautifully made blanket you did. I can see why she’s happy with it. To be honest, your grandmother looks like quite the firecracker, living so long and still smiling.

    Like

  2. Maxi says:

    Your gran is beautiful, all spiffied up ’cause her wonderful granddaughter has bought her a gift of love … made special for her. And her new blankie is blue, my favorite color. Touches my heart.

    Blessings to you and your gran in her new carehome, Pam.

    Hugs, Maxi

    Like

  3. Phil Tonge. says:

    My friend Phils a golfer WOOHOO !! X

    Like

  4. Theresa says:

    Wow, your gran looks great, especially with her age! Beautiful blanket your made for her too!

    Like

  5. Marla says:

    I agree with the comments above. Your gran looks marvelous! Very sweet of you to knit her the blanket for her lap. Nice!

    Like

  6. Theresa says:

    For some reason I couldn’t respond back to your comment on my blog so I thought I’d reply here. I had delayed food allergy testing done and bananas came back extremely high, along with eggs and milk. So I have been avoiding those.

    Like

  7. jodaley says:

    The blanket you made is lovely…I love the colors! How lucky you are to still have your gran. I miss mine.

    Like

    • sterlingsop says:

      Thank you.

      We heard today that she has had to go into a hospital for some round the clock nursing which makes the blanket all the more poignant for me. At least she will have something personal to take with her, which makes me happy.

      Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

