K is for Kindle


K is for Kindle

We had a discussion about this last week and I posted about the pros and cons of e-books vs tree-books. After much thought, comparison and gleeful hand-rubbing I have taken the plunge and have ordered myself a new Kindle Touch which will be available here in the UK from the end of April.

Kindle Touch

I have been breaking myself in by downloading the Kindle app for my phone and one for my PC and to be honest, I am really REALLY looking forward to having the real thing to read on. I wanted the Touch version because it has mp3 capability as well as the text-speech function which was removed from the previous version. I know they had to lose something to keep the price at £89, but I would really make use of both of those capabilities, and the extra £20 is well worth it to me.

I think there are definite benefits to reading books make of paper, same as there is with e-books, and there will definitely be a place on my bookshelves for them.

I anticipate my Kindle will see a lot of “pulp” fiction reading as well as the classics (which are free yeehaa!) and my book-buying budget will be dedicated to special books in future.

Bring on the end of April!!

 

 

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in A-Z April 2012 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to K is for Kindle

  1. dderbydave says:

    Ooo. I’m on the verge. We’ve got some Kobo Touches at work for £89 and I’m sorely tempted.
    And paper v. E? Well we have to dump the paper or lose the rainforests don’t we? I know there’s recyc. But we’re still battering the Amazon for no good reason. Couldn.’t they invent a polywotsit substitute? 🙂

    Like

    • sterlingsop says:

      Argh!!! It was hard enough deciding on a) whether to get a Kindle and b) which one, and then you come along and throw another make into the mix?!?!?!!!!!! I’ll let you know how the Kindle goes….lol!

      Like

  2. thelumberjackswife says:

    I use the Kindle app on my phone and I like it because I can read in bed and not have to get up to turn out the light! 🙂
    Taylor
    http://www.thelumberjackswife.com

    Like

  3. pattisj says:

    Hope you enjoy your new Kindle, once you get your hands on it. 🙂

    Like

  4. Nikki says:

    Thank you for your comment on my blog 🙂

    I’m not sure how I feel about Kindles yet, you’ll have to let us know how you get on 😀

    Like

  5. Maxi says:

    Your excitement is there in every word, Pam. Have fun. Blessings – Maxi

    Like

  6. judithatwood says:

    Good for you — I’m a fan of tree-books, but I want a Kindle, too!

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

