M is for Many Things


M is for Many Things

I have been thinking all day about what I could post for my “M” day today and to be honest, I was struggling to come up with a single suitable category. So I’m going to bend the rules a little and give you a list of top 10 things or people in my life associated with the letter M and maybe one day come back to each one of these and do a proper post on them in the future.

1. Manchester – I was born, bred and still live in Manchester and I am extremely proud of my Mancunian heritage and background. A truly cosmopolitan city with a history dating back as far as the Romans, Manchester is one of a kind. It takes some getting your head round the fact that there is a part of Manchester that has the remains of buildings that stood before Jesus was born. Good stuff eh??!

2. My Mum – there’s not much I can add to that statement. I would not be the person I am today if it weren’t for my Mum and I am blessed.

3. Music – I have been involved with music for the past 34 years in one way or another and it is another defining aspect of my character and my personality. I play it, listen to it, perform it, write it, arrange it, sing it, talk about it, bore other people to death with it and on the odd occasion manage to teach it to other people. I remember my music teacher asking the class at the age of 11 “What is Music?” and to this day, more than 30 years later, I still haven’t come up with a suitable answer! The closest I can get is “music is a series of sounds constructed in such a way as to convey a story and emotion”. I wonder if Mr Craven would be impressed with that answer or would be be holding his head in his hands?!

4. Manchester City – my team. I am a true blue having been brainwashed at birth. City Til I Die is tattooed on my bone marrow, and yes, Denis Tueart walks on water.

5. Ministry – this is a new term to me. Up until recently I was under the misapprehension that ministry was something that only ministers did. So that would be priests, vicars, rectors etc. People with a licence from the Church of England to go and preach and literally MINISTER to the parishes needs. But not so. Ministry is something that all followers of Christ do in their day to day lives and in every single interaction they have with other people. I have come to realise that the word “ministry” is just something that we do all the time but until it had a title it was just known as “kindness and compassion for other people with God in your heart”.

6. Mirth – I love laughing and I love things that make me laugh. My favourite mirth-making things are cartoons and wordplay, preferably at the same time.

7. Marine life – no, not the musclebound military type beefcakes (although they are quite nice I suppose) but the things that go on under the sea. I am a lover of all things seaside and my favourite place to be on holiday is anywhere near the shore, boats, fishing paraphernalia and all that.

8. Marmite – traditionally, you either love it or hate it. I love it. It’s particularly gorgeous when my tummy is playing me up and won’t let me eat anything very much, or like earlier this week when even my spit tasted poisonous to me (pancreatitis attack brewing….) a bit of Marmite on toast ticks all the right boxes when it comes to hiding the miserable taste in my mouth whilst getting something down me that won’t be brought back up.

9. Maine – right at the top of my “got to go and see before I die” list is the state of Maine. Can’t really explain it other than to say that it looks a lot like England used to be like, with a great seashore and seafood and lovely people. Although, if I were a resident of Maine I wouldn’t let Stephen King write my tourist brochures!

10. Mountains – there is something wild and wonderful about mountains that absolutely refused to be tamed by man. They stand resolute and relentlessly rigid in a world that is in a state of constant flux around them you just have to stand in awe of them. I have been up a few and there are some that are on my hit list (when I’m well again), top of which is Snowdon in Wales and closely followed by Ben Nevis in Scotland.

A day off the A-Z Challenge tomorrow so I will be doing a Daybook entry no doubt. Back to the challenge on Monday with the letter N. Toot toot!!

3 thoughts on “M is for Many Things

Add yours

  1. Maine is absolutely beautiful!
    If you go though, you should try to make sure to avoid the more touristy locations and go to the more remote places.

    Like

    1. That’s good advice, thank you. I’m not much of a tourist to be honest. I much prefer to find my own path and to find my way behind the facade of places. I would love to go to Maine this summer but I think it will have to wait a while yet.

      Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama! All images on the site are copyright to Brendan. Please credit any useage, or ask.

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

