O is for Oasis


O is for Oasis

I first heard Oasis without knowing who they were, where they were from, what they were about, what they looked like or what kind of music they were associated with, but from the very first song I was hooked.

My music tastes are pretty wide, and I like particular songs rather than particular styles. However, Oasis is a band that pretty much ticks all my boxes – I love the Britpop sound and their lyrics are pure poetry. It’s a bonus that they are “local” lads hailing as they do from Burnage in Manchester and an even bigger bonus is that they are huge City fans too (Manchester City that is!).

It’s funny that the first time I heard their first hit it was the spoof version performed by Mike Myers. Here’s the video of their own version – Wonderwall. Enjoy.

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in A-Z April 2012 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to O is for Oasis

  1. Mich Mayo-Smith says:

    O Yes… “Some Might Say” you’d better “Roll With It” “Morning Glory” all the way to the “Wonderwall”, and at the same time “Don’t Look Back in Anger”.

    My favourite Oasis album (What’s the Story) Morning Glory.

    Who cares about Blur!!

    Like

  2. auntyuta says:

    Sorry, couldn’t listen to it. It says ‘The video contains content from SME, who has blocked it in your country on copyright grounds.’

    Like

  3. Maxi says:

    Oooh yes, love the lyrics. Have a bright ‘n sunny week end, Pam.

    Blessings – Maxi

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

