Next Book


I got this topic for today’s post from Plinky, but for some reason there is some problem with posting it to WordPress directly so I’m taking the chance to edit it before I post it (control freak!)

What’s Next On My To-Read List

My long-anticipated Kindle arrived last Monday and I am on my third novel since I loaded it up. I didn’t know what I was going to read first and so I indulged myself and downloaded half a dozen books that have been tickling my periphery for a while.

I have read the first two books in a trilogy by E L James on my Kindle, and I am about 15% the way through the third (none of which were tickling my periphery by the way, they were a purely a “do they deserve the trashy image/all the bad hype?” purchase). The next one my to-read list is going to be either “The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo” or “Hunger Games”. It all depends on my mood when I’ve finished with Christian and Ana I suppose! I’ve also downloaded “Coraline” , “The Magicians” and “Percy Jackson 1 – The Lightening Thief”, which means I’ve got a bit of a choice when I’m ready.

What’s on your list? Are you a tree-book or an e-book reader? Are you a recent convert like me?! Please drop me a comment and let me know your thoughts. 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Next Book

Add yours

  1. I don’t have a kindle … can’t make up my mind whether to get one or not. In the school summer holidays I’m going to re-read the Harry Potter books alongside the extra info on the Pottermore site. Up till then I have a selection of murder mysteries to read.

    Like

    1. I couldn’t make my mind up about a kindle for ages, fearing it would either be a gimmicky waste of money or would put me off reading altogether but I’m absolutely thrilled with it and so glad I got one. It is a different reading experience, but I can still lose myself so I’m a happy bunny!!

      Like

    1. In some ways, yes. There is far too much sex for a start! I’m not a prude by any stretch of the imagination, but I am a bit fed up of it to be honest. It was an important aspect of the plot to begin with (it’s a story of two extreme individuals finding love and common ground) but now, by book 3, it is totally unnecessary. I find I’m skipping through those passages to get to the proper story again. If there was less sex, then they would be totally fantastic because in terms of plotting, character development, narrative, prose etc I think they are really good and quite clever.

      Like

  2. Couldn’t agree with you more on too much sex, Pam … along with foul language. Even TV ads are rampant with sexual content.
    Blessings – Maxi

    Like

  3. I highly recommend “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo” trilogy…very well written with interesting characters. It does have a lot of foul lang
    uage, though.

    Currently reading “The Hunger Games” trilogy. Love the imagination of Suzanne Collins. I just started the third book, “Mockingjay.”

    Have fun. BTW, I’m definitely a tree reader.

    Susan
    http://travelbug-susan.blogspot.com

    Like

    1. Thanks for the feedback Susan. I’m still unconvinced about The Hunger Games but I think I’ll give it another go to see if I get hooked. I know it can’t be all that bad if it is consistently at the top of the best-seller lists!

      Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama! All images on the site are copyright to Brendan. Please credit any useage, or ask.

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

