Humpty Hodgepodge


Welcome to this week’s hodgepodge! I’ve not done it for a couple of weeks and I’m really excited to be back on board with Joyce on her weekly hodgepodge questions. If you’d like to join in click the badge below and follow her instructions.

 1. My daughter2 is graduating from university this month and plans to teach elementary school. What are three qualities you most want to see evidenced in a teacher?

Firstly, a passion for the world and purpose of education. Secondly, an empathy with and a totally compassionate understanding of children. And thirdly, a great sense of humour. Without those three things I think a teacher would struggle which would then have a negative impact on the children in their care.

2. You can tell a lot about a person by __________________.

The company they keep.

3. What song makes you think spring?

“Good Day Sunshine” by the Beatles.

4. May 1st is Mother Goose Day…share your favourite nursery rhyme.

A short but simple one: “Jack be nimble, Jack be quick, Jack jump over the candlestick”. I love this one because of the illustration that accompanied it in my nursery rhyme book when I was a child.

5. What makes someone unforgettable?

Someone that has a profound affect on me, whether that is because of a good thing or a bad thing they did or said.

6. Should music and/or art be part of a well rounded education?

YES!!!!!! Absolutely yes, 100% without doubt. An appreciation of art and music is vital for proper education. Life is much, much more than being able to do addition and subtraction and passing a load of exams that make the school look good. Learning about and appreciating music, art and literature is so important for the soul and can’t be emphasised enough for me. It’s the kind of thing that makes us human!

7. What social situations make you flustered and nervous?

Anywhere where I have to dress up formally. I think it has a lot to do with my body image and “posh” clothes are designed for thin people….!

8. Insert your own random thought here.

I spent April participating in the A-Z Challenge and thoroughly enjoyed the stretch that it game my brain. My topics ranged from the personal to the historical and I’m only sorry that I hadn’t done it last year when I first heard about it. I’d recommend the exercise to anyone who is interested in expanding their writing horizons.

7 thoughts on “Humpty Hodgepodge

Add yours

  1. Firstly … I have to say I love the word “firstly” … I don’t think we use it at all here in the USA … I think I will start using it though 🙂
    ANyway … Good choice on the song – love the Beatles! 🙂

    Like

    1. Woop! Thanks Conny. I am always interested in exploring our linguistic differences and I’m always surprised when words come up on conversation that I thought were used everywhere and find that they’re not. I have a few favourite words that are not used any more, such as “thrice” – I think I’ll work up a blog post and use that word somwhere!

      Like

  2. Agree totally on qualifications for a teacher. Maxi says: Someone will always show you who they are, watch what they do.
    Blessings – Maxi

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama! All images on the site are copyright to Brendan. Please credit any useage, or ask.

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

