Seashells Hodgepodge


Ahoy there mateys!!  Welcome to this week’s Hodgepodge. Joyce has set some cracking questions this week and we have a sea theme today. If you want to take part click the picture below and follow her instructions.

 

 

1. What’s a pet peeve you have when vacationing?

Dodgy mobile phone reception. Every single time we go away in the caravan, we end up in an area with either zero mobile reception, or patchy reception so long as you stand on top of the nearest hill and jump up and down waving your phone in the air. I can’t even say which network is worst because I’ve had problems on O2 and Orange, and Kevin and Emma have had trouble with T-Mobile. Occasionally one of us gets a bar or two of signal but it’s never enough to make a call or reliably connect to the internet.

2. Are you a light packer or do you need everything in your closet plus the kitchen sink?

Our holidays are all self-catering so I tend to overdo it with food supplies, and I usually end up taking the equivalent of a small pharmacy in medicines and insect repellent/sting relief. Clothes wise, no matter how many pairs of trousers and tops I take, I end up having some unworn clothes at the end of the holiday. The only time that didn’t happen was the time when I took fewer than I thought I needed and got so wet packing up in a storm (it was pre-caravan days and we were in a tent) that the only dry clothes I could find to get dressed in for the journey home was a t-shirt that my Dad had been sleeping in and a pair of shorts from the beach found in the back of the car. Ever since that occasion I make sure I’ve got PLENTY of clothes with me now!

3. What’s the best lesson a child ever taught you?

Good grief, there’s so many things I’ve learned from my work with children I can’t think of a suitable answer to this one! My own children have taught me endless things about patience and unconditional love and the children I have worked with at bands, brigade, church and in my job at the school have taught me so much about the vulnerability and resilience of the human spirit it is impossible to pin anything specific down.

4. Share one piece of advice you’d give a recent graduate as they attempt to enter the job market?

Keep your head down, work hard, don’t let anyone bully you because you are young and inexperienced, keep your ears open and your mouth shut.

5. What’s your favourite lemon something?

Lemon meringue pie.

6. Flat sandal, wedge, heel…your favourite footwear?

Trainers (or as Americans call them, sneakers) and flipflops.

7. What do you like best about a beach holiday? If you’re not a beach lover (GASP!!) what do you dislike the least?

I love the beach and the seaside generally. I don’t do the whole laying down on the sand all day, I much prefer to be playing games with the kids or exploring rock pools instead. I love wading in the sea – occasionally swimming – but the best bit about beach holidays is evenings on them. Watching the sun setting, a driftwood fire, a couple of bottles of beer, snacks, jokes and stories with the family. Oh yes!!

8. Insert your own random thought here.

I want to go to the seaside now!! Here’s a picture I took a couple of years ago. I absolutely love this, I hope you like it too.

British beach snap

 

11 thoughts on “Seashells Hodgepodge

Add yours

  1. re # 3: Recently my step granddaughter and granddaughter , ages 8 and 9 attended their karate tournament. My step granddaugher won the first place trophy by default as no one in that weight class attended. She would not accept it. Now that’s class.

    Like

  2. Love your beach shot! I don’t know what I’d wear if there weren’t such a thing as flip flops! We can wear them around here nearly all year long!

    Like

    1. I’d go barefoot if I could and kicking off my shoes is the first thing I do when I get home. The photo is one that I composed and tried a few different set ups for, but this one is the one that turned out the best. I love the way the camera is looking upwards and soaking up the rays.

      Like

  3. I loathe poor phone service, no matter when or where I am. The funniest thing is that I had AMAZING reception when I was on my Alaskan cruise last summer. I have Sprint, and Seattle has 4G. Service was incredibly fast!!

    Like

    1. Thanks for your comment 🙂
      We’ve found that the worst reception is often where we expect it to be brilliant (including at home, frustratingly) but sometimes where we expect to have no coverage we have excellent reception! I’ll never get my head round it *le sigh*…

      Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama! All images on the site are copyright to Brendan. Please credit any useage, or ask.

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

