WWW Wednesdays – May 16th


To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

 

What are you currently reading?

I have just started reading Stuart MacBride’s “Dark Blood”. It is the next in a series featuring DS Logan McRae, a hardbitten (and multi-stabbed) Scottish policeman who is struggling just to get the job done and keep things together in his personal life. I’ve not got too far into the story yet to know what this one is all about, other than it’s to do with an ex-con who has done his time but ends up on the wrong end of the long arm of the law again. We are still at the scene setting stage which is a little about the main protagonists and catching us up with things that have happened since the last book.

What did you recently finish reading?

I finished Val McDermid’s “Darker Domain” this afternoon. It was a great story and I loved it right up to the end which spoiled it slightly because everything was a bit rushed and rather shot-off, if you pardon the pun. The setting is Scotland (again…hmmm I see a theme here…) and a cold case team who are put in charge of investigating a 20 odd year old kidnapping and disappearance of a local billionaire’s daughter and grandson. Along the way they are involved in revisiting the case of a blackleg miner who disappeared around the same time, at the height of the miner’s strike in the early 1980’s. It was a great story – totally plausible, extremely readable and really well told. Like I say, the only poor thing was that after all the twists and turns the ending was rather too neat and rather too abrupt to do the rest of it justice. Perhaps Val had a deadline looming?

What do you think you’ll read next?

Hmmm….not sure. I have only just started my current book so it’ll be a day or so before I think about what’s next, but, having just visited our BRAND NEW library half a mile away and with a stack of 7 more BRAND NEW books to tackle, as well as a couple of books I’ve got on loan from friends and the ones I’ve got lined up on my Kindle I won’t be short of choice! I fancy reading something a bit different from Scottish crime thrillers, so I think I might be in the mood for a bit of Victorian romance with “The Dressmaker” by Posie Graeme-Evans.

 

 

 

If you have enjoyed reading my post and want to join in please do click the button above to link to the originator of this meme. Drop me a line to tell me that you have taken part too please – I’d love to have a nosey at what you are all reading too!!

 

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in WWW Wednesday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to WWW Wednesdays – May 16th

  1. Reading The Last Centurion by John Ringo

    Like

  2. Maxi says:

    Reading “Fatal Analysis” by Dr. Martin Obler for second time.
    Blessings – Maxi

    Like

  3. Unfortunately I have never heard about these books, but happy reading! 🙂
    Here you can find my WWW post:
    http://www.peekabook.it/2012/05/www-wednesdays-may16.html

    Valentina
    http://www.peekabook.it

    Like

  4. auntyuta says:

    I am reading ‘The Descendents’ by

    Kaui Hart Hemmings (novel as an e-book)

    I’ve seen the movie already (with George Clooney)

    Before I go to sleep I read
    POWER FREEDOM and GRACE by DEEPAK CHOPRA
    I keep coming back to this book, because severaol passages I’ve been reading over and over again! (I am a rather slow reader!)

    There’s also SAGE-ING WHILE AGE-ING by SHIRLEY MACLAINE on my bedside table as well as

    love, life, GOETHE how to be happy in an imperfect world by John Armstrong

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

