Wednesday Hodgepodge – 30th May


I have missed out on taking part in the Hodgepodge for a little while and I’m really glad to be joining in today! Thank you Joyce as ever for giving us some really good questions to answer this week. If you fancy having a go click on the button above to visit Joyce’s page and follow her instructions.

1. What can the average citizen do to honour a military veteran and/or those currently serving?

We can pray for them and petition our government to bring them home.

2. Besides a flag, what is something you own that is red, white, and blue?

I have a red white and blue checked blouse that comes out on the odd occasion. Last worn at our Jubilee Party last weekend at church.

3. Does love really conquer all?

Sadly, not. Love is so complicated and has so many layers to it that it is impossible to conquer everything. It does make certain things easier but many more things are tougher because of love. Ask me would I live a life without love and I’d spit in your eye. Give me a tough life with love over an easy life without it any day.

4. Strawberry shortcake or blueberry pie?

Strawberry shortcake.

5. Do you share personal stuff with your hairdresser?

I don’t have the same hairdresser every time I need a haircut, and so I only share certain personal things with them by nature of the fact that that they are relative strangers. But, I remember one time when I was feeling extremely low at a time when there was so much going wrong in the family and my health and all that, that a trip to the hairdressers was almost like therapy for me. I had a fantastic “girly” chat with the ladies there (the other stylists and customers) and it was so good that although I  went in feeling almost suicidal, I and came out feeling absolutely euphoric! The feeling of comradeship with those girls that day was immense.

6. Does money lead to selfishness?

Many, many things lead to selfishness and money definitely appears on the list. I think it has something to do with security – if someone feels insecure about something they tend to protect themselves by being selfish about it. Money is no different to love in that respect.

7. What piece of furniture in your home most needs replacing or refinishing?

My son’s bed. It began life as a “high-bed”, ie, a bed on legs that were higher than the top bunk of a set of bunk-beds. We bought it new for Emma when she was about 5 or 6 (14 years ago) and very quickly we realised the foolishness of having such a tall bed, especially when it came to changing the bedding. It was awful when she was ill – she couldn’t always get down in time to be sick, and I couldn’t sit on the edge of her bed to comfort her – and so we always had to make up a sort of camp bed under it for those times. It has had its legs cut down to the height of a “cabin-bed”, moved bedrooms twice, had its ladder replaced and strengthened (twice!), has been drawn on, had posters stuck to it, darts thrown at the woodwork, been made into a pirate den (don’t ask….), had three separate mattresses, been shortened by about six inches so it will fit into the boxroom (that particular modification also involved removing some of the bars at the ends so the mattress would still fit on the frame) and basically, it is now in DESPERATE need of replacing altogether. My 13 year old son is now taller than it is long and he has to sleep diagonally if he wants to stretch out. It has had a long and varied life, and after 14 years of crawling all over it to change the sheets I’ll be glad to see the back of it!

8. Insert your own random thought here.

Resurrection – what does it mean to you? Is it bringing something back to life? How about giving new life to something? Or how about re-creating something? Or something different?  It’s something we were discussing last night and I’ve been churning it over in my mind all day. I’m curious to know what you all think.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Wednesday Hodgepodge – 30th May

Add yours

  1. I haven’t thought too hard just yet but my initial thought is resurrection is bringing something back to life. I will think some more to be sure : )

    Have a nice weekend!

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama! All images on the site are copyright to Brendan. Please credit any useage, or ask.

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

