Blackley FC


A while ago I posted a blog entry on my hometown, Blackley. I have been overwhelmed by the response from people all around the world either with their comments on the post or directly to me by email.

One of the lovely people who have contacted me is a chap called John who is trying to trace anyone who knows anything about the local football team around 1913. John has very kindly sent me a copy of a photograph of the team and I’m throwing it open to anyone who might know anything about the club or any of the players and where they played.

The information we have already is that this picture was in the Middleton Guardian in 1913 following a match where the team were the victors, winning 4-2 (we don’t know who they played so can’t check out the details of why the story made it to the local papers). The family name Sutterby has been mentioned in connection with this picture (three brothers Harold, Percy and Albert (Bert)), and they were related through the previous generation to a grocer and butcher by the name of Frank Hulme of Moston.

If you can shed any further light on the people in this photo or any details about the club then please do get in touch. Many thanks!!

Pam

5 thoughts on “Blackley FC

Add yours

  1. This is so great for you. It never occurred to me to use my blog to try to make contact with my old neighborhood families that I grew up with. Hmm, pretty cool idea.

    I wish you much luck in finding out the information you’re looking for. This is really exciting for you I’m sure. ~ BB

    Like

    1. To be honest I hadn’t thought of it until I was asked by John to try and help him. It’s given me an idea about setting up a separate blog dedicated to local history. I’m going to give it some serious thought.

      Like

  2. Pam Thnx for posting photo don’t know whether it was actually in the Middleton Guardian as i have it on a postcard but it does look official doesn’t it. Regards John Kay

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama! All images on the site are copyright to Brendan. Please credit any useage, or ask.

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

