WWW Wednesdays (1st August)


WWW Wednesdays (Aug.1)

By MizB on August 1, 2012

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

 

 

 

My answers:

I am currently reading The Pull of the Moon by Elizabeth Berg. I am 20% the way through and I quite like the gentle pace of the prose. It’s soothing in a strange sort of way. It’s the story of Nan who goes on a road trip alone shortly after she reaches her 50th birthday. The purpose of the trip is to find herself and to help her do that she fills in a journal as she goes. She also writes letters to her husband Martin and it’s these journal entries and letters back home that make up the novel. There have been a few times where I’ve found myself nodding in agreement with her – the fact that she doesn’t drive her husband’s car because of him moaning about having to put the mirrors and seat back into the “correct” positions when she’s finished – but so far there’s not too much revolutionary in her self-discovery. I would say this is more of a comfort read rather than a challenging read. A nice bedtime book.

I last read The Silent Girl by Tess Gerritsen. Putting it simply, I loved this book. I am a recent convert to Tess Gerritsen’s work and I’ve read quite a few of hers one after the other (not always in the right order, which narks me) and this is by far the best. The book opens with the discovery of a severed hand in a back alley in Chinatown and the investigation takes Rizzoli back to a massacre in the same area 19 years previously and it introduces us to new detective, Johnny Tam. He’s Chinese and his communication skills and his knowledge of Chinese myths and legends are key to the investigation…but is he more than he is letting on??

 

 

My next book is probably going to be Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer. I know this is a series that are aimed at teenagers but I don’t mind that. I’ve read quite a few series that are supposedly for kids now and I’ve enjoyed them a lot so I am hoping that these will be same. I really enjoyed the Septimus Heap books and similarly I enjoyed the Spook’s adventure series. I am partial to a bit of fantasy/sci fi but the “adult” stuff is a bit too much for me, which is why I prefer this type of thing. I’ll let you know how I get on.

 

 

If you want to have a go at your own WWW Wednesday please click here to go to the host site  and add your details there. Please let me know what your three answers are either here as a comment (if you don’t have a blog of  your own) or by leaving a link to your answers in my comments and on the host site. Thank you!!

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in WWW Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to WWW Wednesdays (1st August)

  1. Irish says:

    You make me want to run out and get that Gerritsen book! I’m a couple of books behind on the series…but now I really need to push and get caught up!

    My WWW Wednesday is here.

    Like

  2. These all look like really good books. I will have to look into them 🙂

    You can find my W.W.W. here:

    http://www.peekabook.it/2012/08/www-wednesdays-aug01.html

    Happy reading!

    Valentina
    http://www.peekabook.it

    Like

  3. mairedubhtx says:

    I’ll check these out.

    Like

  4. I’ve read 2 Artemis Fowl books, and I think you’ll enjoy them.

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

