Summer Camp Day 13


A bit of a late start today, you can tell we’re in full holiday mode now!

We made a packed lunch and had a lovely little picnic on Arley station, one of the beautiful rural stations along the Severn Valley Railway that we travelled through yesterday. The rain made (yet another) appearance so we took shelter under a very big tree, which has been there since before even the station was built back in the early days of the 19th Century. Amazing!

We had to split the party then because Mum and Dad didn’t fancy our afternoon’s entertainment. So it was with some giggling and excitement that Kevin and I took the kids (Emma aged nearly 19, Sam aged nearly 25 and Ethan aged 13) to the safari park.

We had such a good time looking at the animals and feeding them through the car window. We made particular friends with a giraffe who not only liked the food we’d bought especially for him from the rangers, but also developed a fondness for my right thumb! Ouch! They might not have teeth but they still hurt when they bite!

They were still my favourites though. The elephants were busy dusting themselves down, and the Bengal tiger was asleep on top of a shed which was amusing to see. I loved the Sumatran tiger too,  his colouring was beautiful.

image

Once we’d done the four mile safari drive (and after I’d survived the heart attack obtained by having TWO camels thrust their hairy faces through my open window…) we headed in to see the caged animals on foot. We saw a sea lion show which was BRILLIANT and had a walk through a bat cave, which was freaky. The kids had a ball, which was the aim of the day.

We finished the day with a lovely pub meal and game of pool in the local pub, which is about 10 steps away from our caravan. Happy days!!

Not sure what the plan is tomorrow but it is the last day of our holiday before we head home on Saturday morning. I can’t believe this fortnight is nearly over! I hope you have enjoyed my accounts of it as we’ve gone along.  I’ll do a summing up post with more pictures over the weekend. 🙂

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Summer Camp Day 13

  1. misswhiplash says:

    it has been an enjoyable journey and I agree with you, it’s a shame that it has to end…but if life was one long holiday we would never get to enjoy the things that we do

    Like

  2. auntyuta says:

    I heard that this summer was your wettest in a hundred years! It’s good that you still had a lovely holiday.

    Holidays are always fun to remember. In the past, we were sometimes eight people in the one holiday unit. We loved to play ‘dictionary’ around the table at night-time. Now some of our grandchildren have already children of their own. We might get together with some of them at Christmas-time, which is summertime here in Australia.

    First of all we’re heading towards the ‘old’ country this coming Saturday. We’re going to arrive in Berlin on Sunday.

    I’ll be looking out for your summary of your holidays, dear Pam. I am happy for you that you and your family have had such a pleasant time. Our holidays over in Germany are going to last for 2 1/2 months. I’m sure I’ll be glad when we’re back home in Australia. But in the meantime we’ll do our best to enjoy every bit of our trip. So long, Uta.

    Like

    • sterlingsop says:

      It has been one of the wettest YEARS I think this year! We are used to it I suppose…..good raincoats and waterproof shoes are a must in this country.

      I hope you have a great trip back to the old country. It seems such a long time to be away from home, but I suppose it’s “home” that you are going to so it must feel a bit different for you. Please keep us updated on what you are doing 🙂

      Best wishes, Pam x

      Like

  3. auntyuta says:

    I hope to be able to keep you somewhat updated, dear Pam. Best wishes to you and your family, Uta. ooxx

    Like

  4. Susan A. says:

    The safari park sounds like a real hoot! What fun.

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

