Summer Camp – Last Day!


Well dear reader, this fortnight has finally drawn to a close.  We have had a great time and have seen lots more of our wonderful country and learned an awful lot about our heritage and our history.

Today’s journey into the past involved a visit to Daniels Mill down the road. The mill has the biggest working water wheel in England and dates back to the early 1800’s. The wheel is still the original, which is remarkable. The mill still produces flour and we bought a couple of bags of it to use at home. I’m looking forward to baking some pure stone ground bread next week especially add it seems the season has turned and we are getting into Autumn.  It’s soup and stew time, which is always better with decent homemade bread to go with them!

image

We got some lunch in the High Town in Bridgnorth, so called because it is up the cliff from Low Town. It is a gorgeous place to visit, with buildings all seemingly built around 1650 our before!! We went into the castle grounds,  which thanks to a Parliamentarian Army attack in 1642 are now largely park land, and had a look at the remaining wall of the castle keep. It’s a bit lopsided!

image

After a lovely stroll round the town we decided to head back to camp for our last-night meal. A couple of cooked chickens, some salad, cheese, French bread, pork pies and pickles followed by fresh strawberries and cream. Mmmmm!

You might remember I mentioned the noise of dogs barking when we first arrived. Well….. It turns out they are hunting dogs and the past two days they have been out on the hunt. We heard them departing at 7am these past two mornings. How do we know they are hunting dogs?  That bloody huntsman’s horn has a distinctive sound.  Better than any alarm clock!!

Hopefully they’ll let us have a lie in in the morning before we pack up and head home.

It has been a BRILLIANT holiday but I’m most definitely looking forward to my own bed and shower tomorrow!

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Summer Camp – Last Day!

  1. and a good time was had by all!
    I am having chili tonight, the eve before September – who cares if it reached 41C today or 104 F as my husband roughly figured out–I have some coolers and beer, so we are prepared

    Like

  2. pattisj says:

    It’s always good to come home. 🙂

    Like

    • sterlingsop says:

      I think they’re a peculiarly British thing – they are little pastry cases filled with minced pork and flavourings. The pastry is usually a hot water pie-crust pastry and there is a stock/jelly surrounding the meat to keep it nice and juicy inside. Gorgeous!!

      Like

  3. misswhiplash says:

    ah one of the joys of going away is the coming home again…and your own bed!
    Now the holiday is over and it has provided writing material for all those days..what are we going to read now….
    Maybe you can go on another one?

    Like

    • sterlingsop says:

      Hahaha I wish!!!

      It has been a great time away but I am glad to be back inside my own four walls again. I feel really relaxed and refreshed now. Hopefully we will get another weekend or so in before it gets too cold.

      Like

  4. Maxi says:

    Yuuuum, home made bread and stew. I wanna have dinner at your house.
    Blessings – Maxi

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

