Monday Quiz About Me – The Labor Day Edition


I’m trying a new meme today, and found this at Acting Balanced via another of my fellow bloggees, Kathy at Reflections by Kathy.

The idea is that you answer the first FOUR QUESTIONS that everyone can answer and then you have the option to add a fifth question of your own for those who are visiting your blog to answer in the comment section, along with commenting on the four standard questions you answered. Simples!!

 

1. What was the toughest job you ever had?

I think the most emotionally demanding job I had was my last one, where I was on the pastoral team working with teenage children at a secondary school. There incredible highs along the way but there were some extremely traumatic occasions too. It’s what you’d expect working with the children I worked with and the families and home lives they had. I loved it.

2. What one characteristic makes a good boss?

Competency!!! I haven’t actually counted up the number of bosses I’ve had who can’t do even the basics of their job without asking for someone to bail them out but it runs to two hands at least. Like the finance manager who couldn’t set up and manage a spreadsheet…..

3. How did you celebrate ‘the end of summer’?

Here in England we are still waiting to celebrate the START of bloody summer this year!!! It has been the wettest summer for more than 100 years, and that’s saying something.

4. Do you follow the fashion rules about Labor Day being the end of wearing white etc?

I have no idea what this question means I’m afraid! Perhaps one of my US readers could enlighten me please??!

My question for you is…

5.  We are having a Harvest Supper at my church in about six week’s time. What would you suggest is a great dish to serve at it?

Please do join in and answer these questions. Drop me a comment or a link to your own blog if you answer them so I can see what you’ve written too!

5 thoughts on “Monday Quiz About Me – The Labor Day Edition

Add yours

  1. Answer to #5: How about a big green salad with black beans, blueberries, jicama, cucumbers, tomatoes, sugar snap peas, carrots, celery, hard-boiled eggs and raw cauliflower? Take a couple choices of salad dressings and some tongs or salad servers.

    Question #4: The way I understand this fashion “rule” is that you don’t wear white shoes until after Easter and you don’t wear white shoes after Labor Day. I haven’t followed this silly rule for years. (My mom used to be a model back in the 50s and 60s and we followed this rule for years.)

    Like

  2. …waiting to celebrate the START of bloody summer. You make me laugh, Pam. Although it’s probably not funny to you.

    Where I live it was a “no, no” to wear black during the summer and white once summer ended. Buuut no one has paid attention to that for many years now.

    Blessings ~ Maxi

    Like

  3. Hi from Arkansas! Thank you for visiting and commenting via The Simple Woman’s Daybook. You read my very first post on my new blog! I don’t feel alone! You are waiting for summer, while we are waiting for the endless summer to end: 106 F (41 Celsius?) yesterday.

    On your church supper, here folks like a bean salad sometimes called “Texas Caviar”. Here is a version with black-eyed peas that my father used to like:

    http://www.simplyrecipes.com/recipes/texas_caviar/

    You can vary it with corn or any bean you prefer, and adjust seasoning to taste. Best Regards, Betty

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama! All images on the site are copyright to Brendan. Please credit any useage, or ask.

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

