Wednesday Hodgepodge – 12th September


Welcome to the 93rd edition of the Wednesday Hodgepodge…so glad you joined the party today!  Hop over to Joyce’s blog and add your link at the end of her post and be sure to visit some of the neighbours.  Here are my answers~

 

1.  ARE YOU READY FOR SOME FOOTBALL? The NFL is back in action along with all the college teams.  Are you a fan?  Who do you root for?  If you’re not a fan what do you do while the rest of America watches Saturday, Sunday, Monday night, and now Thursday night games?

“Football” to me is perhaps “soccer” to you, and yes I’m ready for it!! I support Manchester City and I have even upgraded my Sky subscription this year just to be able to watch them more!

2.  What’s something I’ll always find in your closet?

T-shirts and shorts.

3.  Share one of your earliest memories.

My earliest memory is of being in hospital after having my stomach pumped as a toddler. I had confounded my mother’s efforts to keep my safe one morning by climbing out of my crib, making my way down the stairs and into the kitchen, climbing onto the table and then into the cupboard before breaking open a CHILDPROOF bottle of painkillers and eating them all. Then, just to make things a bit more dangerous, I drank a full bottle of liquid paracetamol for children which also had a childproof cap. I then went back up to my mum who was asleep in bed and she woke up to the sickly-sweet smell of the medicine on my breath. It took her all of about 0.03 seconds to recognise the smell and leap out of bed and to determine what had happened. I don’t remember the actual stomach pumping at the hospital, but I do remember the Disney characters pasted onto the cubicle windows and sitting on my Dad’s knee with a bucket to be sick into. I did survive the incident (as you can obviously see!) but it has left me with a lifelong phobia of vomiting. I would rather roll about for days on end feeling nauseous than just be sick and get over it!

4.  What circus act best describes your week so far?

The trapeze – swinging from one extreme to another!

5.  What’s a food you disliked as a child that you love now?

I suppose it’s fair to say that the whole food-group of vegetables were detested as a child but LOVED now!

6.  Describe your summer in three words.

Family, patriotic pride.

7.  Where were you on September 11, 2001?  Will you do anything special to mark the day?

I was off work sick and was lying on the settee watching TV when there was a newsflash saying that a plane had crashed into one of the towers in New York. As the afternoon wore on and it became apparent that it wasn’t an accident and that there was more to it, the news took over all other programs on TV.

I didn’t mark the anniversary in any particular way, but that’s not to say that my heart and prayers aren’t with all those people who were directly affected. I did pray for those involved and those affected by that day and the days afterwards and I continue to pray for healing.

8.  Insert your own random thought here. 

We had a church meeting tonight about stewardship, and the speaker explained that the definition of stewardship is “being in charge of something that doesn’t belong to you”.  We were actually talking about being stewards of the church, inasmuch as we are in charge of this thing called “church” and we have to look after it to hand it on in the best condition we can.

It led me to think that our we are stewards of our very own lives; God has given us our life as a gift and we will have to account to him for it when it’s time to hand it back. That led me to ask myself am I really giving him value for money? Am I being a good steward of my life, or am I squandering it? How can I be a better steward and give God an good account of my life when I finally face him when it’s time to hand my life back?

Hmmmm…..this is going to take some thinking about! What about you?

 

 

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Wednesday Hodgepodge and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Wednesday Hodgepodge – 12th September

  1. Lisa B. says:

    Hello! Just stopping by from the Hodgepodge linkup. I loved your early memory. I’m certain you must have kept your mother on her toes as a child! 😉

    Like

  2. jodaley says:

    Your side of the pond has every right to feel very proud and patriotic after their exciting summer! It was such a welcome respite from all the depressing stuff happening round the world.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Thursday Hodgepodge | My Life, Such As It is

  4. auntyuta says:

    Your earliest memory, Pam. Did you tell us how old you were when all this happened? Two or maybe three? Anyhow, I’m very glad you survived all this!

    Like

    • sterlingsop says:

      Haha! Me too Uta, me too!
      I think I was around 2 years old at the time or even maybe a bit younger. I think the only reason I remember it is because it has had such a profound effect on me……shudder……!

      Like

  5. viviellevirgule says:

    About stewardship of your life, a favorite quote of mine is “What you are is God’s gift to you. What you make of yourself if your gift to God.” Thanks for the reminder about being a good steward of my life.

    Like

    • sterlingsop says:

      That’s a great quote, thank you for sharing it with me! The term “stewardship” is new to me, but the concept behind it is something that I kind of instinctively understand and work to. It’s great to hear it interpreted in other ways too.

      Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

