Daybook Entry – 11th October


 

FOR TODAY
Outside my window…rain, rain, rain and more rain

I am thinking…about the events of the day. I was on the bus this morning going to church for our Experience Harvest with the local school-children and a car pulled out on us from a side street. The bus crashed into it and a few people on the bus were injured by being thrown about against the seats and the handrails etc. My back is hurting now but I was ok at the time. One of the ladies on the bus was thrown against the front dash of the bus and was taken to hospital by ambulance. We’ve found out since that she has hurt her shoulders and her hips and has a huge lump on the back of her head. She has been allowed home which is good news, but she’ll be under observation for a few days at home. What was surprising that there was no hysterics or massive outbursts from anyone on the bus. Everyone was calm and collected even though they were in pain and worried about the lady at the front.

I am thankful…nobody was seriously injured. It could have been so much worse if there had been more people on the bus, or if it had been travelling just a touch faster. It’s horrible to think how bad it could have been.

In the kitchen…we had a ready meal from Asda tonight.

I am wearing…my “ready for bed” clothes. And no, that’s not a negligee or peephole teddy but an old raggedy t-shirt and my pyjama bottoms!

I am creating…I finished crocheting a hat for Emma tonight. She has joined a walking and climbing club at university and she wanted a new hat to go hiking in this weekend so I made her one tonight. I hope she likes it!

I am going…to bed shortly to rest my aching body.

I am wondering…if I’ll be ok to conduct tomorrow night.

I am reading… “The Glass House” by Ann Cleeves. I’m about half way through and loving it.

I am hoping…for a restful night’s sleep tonight.

I am praying for…the lady on the bus, the bus driver and the other passengers from this morning; for the schoolchildren who have Experienced Harvest with us at church this week.

I am looking forward to…harvest supper on Saturday night at church.

I am learning… that children say the funniest things and have the funniest view of the world. For instance, did you know that you get vegetables from sheep??!

Around the house…it could do with a tidy up and a bit of a clean, but Emma did three loads of laundry for me yesterday so the washing basket is not as full as it usually is at this time of the week.

I am pondering…taking a cup of tea to bed in a minute to have while I read my book. What’s stopping me is having to get up in the night for the toilet…hmmm….

A favourite quote for today… “Do your little bit of good where you are; it’s those little bits of good put together that overwhelm the world”. Desmond Tutu

One of my favourite things…is singing.

A few plans for the rest of the week: last two sessions of Experience Harvest in the morning, band rehearsal tomorrow night, Harvest Supper on Saturday night, Harvest Festival service Sunday morning, baptism at church on Sunday afternoon and then a nice long lie down in a dark room!

A picture for today:

 

Come and join us at  http://thesimplewomansdaybook.blogspot.com/ and join in!!

 

 

5 thoughts on “Daybook Entry – 11th October

Add yours

  1. “What was surprising that there was no hysterics or massive outbursts from anyone on the bus”

    You will see this calm and sense of purpose in spite of tragedy in Miami when the hurricane hits and a very polarized community becomes united as can possibly be.

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama! All images on the site are copyright to Brendan. Please credit any useage, or ask.

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

