Wednesday Hodgepodge – 24th October


I’m joining Joyce this week for her 99th edition of the Wednesday Hodgepodge. If you want to join in, please hop over to Joyce’s blog and follow her instructions. See you there!


1.  So, do you like beer?

I do indeed. I love real ale (not sure if you get that in the US?) and I love drinking the heavier, nuttier flavoured bottled beers over here in the UK. My favourite is Old Peculier. Yes it’s really spelled like that!

2. What’s your least favourite repetitive task?

Ironing Ethan’s uniform on a Sunday night. I love to see a row of neatly ironed shirts at the end of the task all ready for him to wear to school during the week, but I hate having to drag myself away from the living room with the rest of the family to go and set up the ironing board and all that palaver. We tend to only iron things that have to be, like uniforms, and at the minute it’s just Ethan who has to have white shirts for school. Although Emma has recently joined the Royal Naval Reserves and has to iron all that….with mother’s help of course!

3.  When was the last time you rode in a bus?  Where was it headed?

I was on the bus yesterday with Emma and we went into Manchester city centre to do a bit of shopping for her upcoming trip with the Navy. She needed hair bits and pieces because she has to have her hair off her face and collar when she’s in uniform, and she needed some smart shirts for her “free” time. I say “free” because even during that time there is a dress code and it’s quite strict. We also picked up her number 1 uniform from the barracks which was a bit cumbersome to carry home on the bus to say the least.

On the way home the bus driver got the route wrong and we ended up on the wrong road out of the town centre. It was really funny and we got a mini tour of the back streets of Ancoats while he got us back on the route haha!

4.  What song from your childhood or from your own children’s childhood could make a parent’s nerves stand on end?

The theme tune from the Teletubbies. It still has the power to make me cringe and it has been about 12 years since I last heard it!

5.  The US Presidential election cycle is drawing to a close (can I get an AMEN??),and the third and final debate was held last night….what was the last thing you ‘debated about’?

We had a meeting of the church council last night and we debated quite a lot about things like the direction we were headed with our children’s work, and the style of our services being too much/too little for the older people of our congregation.

6.  Can a person make too much money?  How much is too much? Yes. Nobody can work that hard by his own hands to earn an obscene salary. A just wage for a just day’s work is not too much to expect. Money that earns money is a different matter.

Can I person spend too much money?  On themselves, yes. On things to help other people, no.

Can a person earn so much they waste a lot of money?  Yes.

Can a person who makes ‘too much money’ also do a lot of good in this world?  Absolutely. There are plenty of philanthropists out there who do good work with their money.

7.  Pop-soda-coke-something else…what’s it called where you live? 

When I was a kid we used to get fizzy drinks in bottles and we called it “pop”. When it started to become available in cans the term “pop” got gradually dropped in favour of “a can of….”.  Nowadays I have a “fizzy drink” or I’ll request it by name such as Sprite, or Fanta or something.

8.  Insert your own random thought here. 

I went to see my friend Amanda today and it was lovely to spend some time with her and her two little ones. We had a great chat to catch up on things and to put the world to rights, and I had a ball playing with her little lad. He is so quick and intelligent, and is absolutely gorgeous to watch. His face lights up as he plays and he is one of those children that you instantly love. He was treated to a dose of my special brand of teasing and it was a complete joy to play with him. He got hold of my phone at one point and worked out how to take pictures of himself on it (he’s 2 years old!) and I’ve got a delightful collection of pictures and a videos of him talking to himself on my phone. Special times like today should be treasured, and I’m so glad my friend invited me to visit her today.

My favourite beer

 

 

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Wednesday Hodgepodge and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Wednesday Hodgepodge – 24th October

  1. jodaley says:

    I lke the ale name : ) We were fans of London Pride when we lived in the UK. Teletubbies weren’t big when my kids were young, but their adverts managed to be annoying! Enjoy your day!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Wednesday/Thursday Hodgepodge | My Life, Such As It is

  3. auntyuta says:

    I admire you, Pam, for being so persistent in writing, even when you’ve had a few hectic and not altogether pain free days. There’s always a positive note in your writing and a healthy philosophy in your thinking. I hope you’ll be able to have a pleasant and relaxing weekend! Much love, Uta.

    Like

    • sterlingsop says:

      Thank you Uta! I’m looking forward to having a rest this weekend. We have a couple of films lined up to watch tomorrow afternoon and I think I’ll be making a pot of soup for our evening meal tomorrow night. Mmmmm I love family and relaxation time!

      Like

  4. auntyuta says:

    Family and relaxation time, ah, this reminds me what a good time we had last Thursday at Ilse’s place. We arrived at 11 am and left at 5 pm. During this time a simple home cooked meal was provided and later on coffee and cake. There were six of us, including Peter and his two sisters. There was plenty to talk about the whole time. It was very relaxing family talk.
    Looks like we’re going to have a rather cold weekend here in Berlin.
    Your plans for the weekend sound great, Pam. Enjoy it!

    Like

    • sterlingsop says:

      Thank you Uta, you too!! I bet you can’t wait to escape a European winter and get back to a sunny Australia! Make the most of the time left with your family in Berlin before it starts snowing and the ice sets in xx

      Like

      • auntyuta says:

        Christmas in summertime at a beach at the Australian East coast: I imagine this while I’m still in wintry Berlin! The six of us plus seven more family members spent a lovely evening yesterday at an Italian restaurant. The outside temperature was close to freezing point. But we did get a lift back home. So all is well.

        Like

  5. Ah, ignore my comment on the “Busy, busy” post. I see the answer to my question in this post! It would help if I read your posts in order…

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

