Wednesday Hodgepodge – 21st November 2012


Wishing all Hodgepodgers around the world the gift of a thankful heart today and everyday!

Before I begin I’d just like to say THANK YOU to Joyce for another brilliant Hodgepodge this week. Best wishes to you and your family for a peaceful and enjoyable Thanksgiving tomorrow.


1. Turkey-love it or leave it? White meat or dark?  What’s your favourite thing to make using leftover turkey?

I love turkey and am happy to eat any part of it. I didn’t used to enjoy the dark meat when I was younger but I’ve grown to love it since I started cooking my own.

The absolute best way to have turkey leftovers is to have lots of cold cuts of meat, a selection of cheeses, salad and lots of chutney and pickles. To use up turkey after a day or so I’ve been known to turn it into a soup, a stew, a curry and even a turnkey risotto once!

2. Gotta burn off all those carbs the day after a holiday feast so which would you rather do-run a 10K or climb a mountain?

If I could do either activity I would choose to climb a mountain. There’s nothing quite like the sense of achievement you feel when you reach the top.

3. Do you feel like social networking has made your relationships better or worse?  Explain.

On the whole I feel that social networking has enriched my life and has made my friendships better. The way I see it, if it wasn’t for my blog I wouldn’t have had an outlet for my frustrations and my thoughts about a whole range of things. It has been especially important to me since I got ill and spend 90% of my time in my own company. Without it I would have climbed the walls years before now! Also, my connection to people on Facebook – both those I know in “real” life and those who I play Pioneer Trail with – has been strengthened since I got ill. Being in contact with people and sharing the minutiae of their lives is a blessing to me. It might sound really superficial but to know that people are stuck in traffic, or bemoaning the speedy weekend they’ve just had, or that they’re stuck what to cook for dinner is great fodder to keep my life ticking over. There have been big issues aired and discussed as well, and there has been the kinds of things we would have chatted over at work during the day (I’m thinking X-Factor etc here!) and I love having that contact with people.

4. How do you find and express gratitude for the hard things in your life?

I think it comes down to whether you are a pessimist or an optimist. I tend to be more optimistic and therefore it’s easier for me to see the benefits and lessons in things that are perhaps a bit harder to take. I always thank God for the good things in my life – my family, my home, food in my cupboards etc – but I always thank him for the difficult things too. Pain, illness, financial difficulties are horrible to manage but I’m thankful that I have the personal skills and tools to hand to deal with them and I’m grateful for the people around me that help me cope.

5. In the US the day after Thanksgiving has been dubbed ‘Black Friday’.  Is most of your holiday shopping done live and in person or is done more through the magic of the Internet? How do you feel about stores opening at midnight on Thanksgiving?  Will you be out amongst the masses on Friday?

I like to a mixture of shopping for Christmas. I like the facility to shop at my leisure online for “main” presents and gifts, but I also like to be able to go and browse for the smaller things that go in stockings or as joke gifts. I’m not a natural shopper to be honest I’d rather stick pins in my eyes than go to a shopping mall to weigh up the pros and cons of this and that in different shops, and I hate the pressure of finding something “just right” that the shop doesn’t have in stock.

To answer the second part of the question, here in the UK we have a similar situation with shops starting their sales at the crack of dawn on Boxing Day. We have laws that prevent shops opening at midnight at Christmas, but that doesn’t stop them opening early on Boxing Day. I think it’s disgusting that shops – and shoppers – feel the need to spend spend spend so close after a religious holiday. Actually, I can’t see the need to spend spend spend at ANY time, but that’s just me I guess.

6. Speaking of the colour black-which black item in your wardrobe would you say is your favourite?

I have a black top that has got a lot of embroidered detail on it which is made out of a slinky material and hangs beautifully on me.

7. What do you appreciate about your life today? 

The network of friends and family that surround me and support me physically, spiritually and emotionally.

8.  Insert your own random thought here.  

I made a little “squeeee!” sound out loud the other day, quite involuntarily, when I switched my Kindle on. You see, I’ve been reading a trilogy set on the Isle of Lewis and am eagerly waiting for the third book to be published. I found out that the hardback edition is due to be published at the end of January next year and the Kindle edition was due on the 21st December. I was absolutely thrilled to bits when I turned on my machine and the notification “download pending” appeared….followed by “The Chess Men….downloading now”. I was that excited, I actually made a little noise. It is every bit as good as I was expecting it to be and no doubt I’ll be reviewing it for you early next week haha!!!

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Wednesday Hodgepodge and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Wednesday Hodgepodge – 21st November 2012

  1. Nani says:

    I totally make those sounds when my favorite authors release new books!

    I do agree with you about social media for the same reason. With a dsability I spend a lot of time home alone and when the cats are sleeping… 🙂 My blog especially is my contact with the world!

    Like

  2. Maxi says:

    Tomorrow is turkey day, only we are havin’ ham. I would be eatin’ dark meat if turkey was on the table, never did care for white meat. It will be a very low-key day.
    Blessings to you, Pam ~ happy readin’

    Like

  3. Theresa says:

    I only recently started liking the dark meat. I agree about shopping.

    Like

  4. debby9972 says:

    I didn’t like dark meat when I was younger either. I use to be able to hike and I loved it. I am not a real shopper either. I only go to the mall when I absolutely have to for a gift. I will not be leaving the house on Friday. So glad your happy about your Kindle books. I’m not a real big reader and I still like having the hard copy of a book. Enjoyed reading your answers!

    Like

  5. Pingback: Thanksgiving Hodgepodge | My Life, Such As It is

  6. jodaley says:

    I get excited about books too : ) I also enjoy the everyday connections social networking allows with friends scattered all over the world. I don’t think it replaces face time, but it helps keep the connection current when face time isn’t possible

    Like

  7. auntyuta says:

    Meat – I don’t care much for it at all.
    Shopping on Boxing Day. I never tried. And probably never will.
    Network of friends: Very important! I definitely very much include my blogging friends.

    Kindle books: Did neglect them recently since we bought many printed books over in Germany. Unfortunately I’m often a very slow reader. I blame my bad eyesight. Some of the books we bought we wouldn’t be able to get on Kindle. Kindle books are actually good for me since the print can be enlarged at will.

    I love to wear black because it slims the figure. I like to add a touch of something colourful to black items.

    I think it often helps to be a bit philosophical about some of the daily struggles in life. We had a few since we arrived back in Australia one week ago. Some things looked quite horrible in the beginning but eventually did get smoothed out. Overall I count myself very lucky and I am very grateful for all the enjoyment I can still get out of life.

    Like

  8. Pingback: Gracias Hodgepodge « Caramelos.Me

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

