Learning


About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
Image | This entry was posted in Thought For Today and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Learning

  1. Maxi says:

    The wonderful thing about learning is that it enriches our lives, so long as we are willing to open our minds and let the knowledge in.
    Blessings ~ Maxi

    Like

  2. auntyuta says:

    Hi Pam, I just read about the flood situation in England. Is your area effected at all? I hope not. Take care, Uta

    Like

    • sterlingsop says:

      Hi Uta, the floods are to the south of me and we’re fine here in Manchester thank you. There are some parts of Lancashire that are in trouble but the worst of it seems to be in Cornwall and Devon as well as some parts of the Midlands which are all to the south of us here. I think the fact that our bedrock here is limestone saves us as we have great drainage. Unfortunately down south it is more chalky and water doesn’t drain away as quickly. There are also higher density population catchments down south and so there is less countryside to absorb the excess water. New houses are built on floodplains which doesn’t help!!

      Like

      • auntyuta says:

        I am glad you are safe, Pam. The building of houses on floodplains should be a no, no. Similar things go on in Australia. Has all this to do with population pressure? Still, it should be possible to avoid it by insisting on the right kind of building regulations. Some things I just can’t understand

        Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

