Daybook Entry – 27th November


For Jackie!!

 

FOR TODAY

Outside my window…It’s dark, damp, bitingly cold and there are moody clouds scudding across the sky.

I am thinking…about the busy times coming up against me in the next couple of weeks and I’m trying not to panic about it all.

I am thankful…for my church family. We have had such a brilliant night tonight sharing dinner and having a good time together and we have been making exciting plans for the new year.

In the kitchen…there are remains of a chocolate and vanilla traybake cake I made for our dinner tonight. Can’t wait to have some of it tomorrow with my bestie when we have a brew!

I am wearing…jeans and a grey t-shirt but am heading to bed soon so that will change in about half an hour.

I am creating…all sorts of things Christmassy! Tomorrow’s project will see the start of the Christmas nativity figures we will be putting together with the kids at Sunday School this week.

I am going…to have to go and find some paper heads for said nativity figures tomorrow.

I am wondering…if I’ll get to the end of my “to do” list this week in one piece.

I am reading… “The Chess Men” by Peter May. It’s the third in a series that I’ve been reading recently set on the Isle of Lewis. I’ve not had much reading time recently so I’m not as far on with it as I would have thought by now.

I am hoping… I don’t drop the ball with everything that’s going on.

I am praying for… Pat, one of the ladies at church. I’ve previously blogged about her when she was diagnosed with breast cancer and started her chemo. She had a fall recently and has broken her hip, meaning that as well as receiving her weekly chemo she has had to have an operation to pin her hip together yesterday. I just can’t imagine what she’s going through and she is very much in my thoughts and prayers. Also, a special person who has had a miscarriage today.

I am looking forward to… Christmas.

I am learning… how to pace myself and to control my pain/panic levels.

Around the house… until I went out tonight it was pretty tidy but I’ve come back home and it looks like a bomb’s hit it. Tsk….. kids!

I am pondering… a cup of tea or not a cup of tea before bedtime?

I have been absent from blogland for a couple of days because… I have had quite a bad episode of pain, culminating in a horizontal day on Friday. It has been brewing for a while and I have managed to put it out of mind and to get on with what I have had to do, but last week it got a bit much. I went to my doctor on Thursday and he basically told me that there was nothing else he could do for me unless it became an emergency, and the best he can offer is pain control. For life??! Anyway, Friday morning was horrendous and I was violently ill. I was in immense pain from my usual pain, but because I had been so suddenly and violently sick I had hurt my chest as well. I didn’t eat or drink anything all day, in fact, I was so nauseous for the rest of the day it was even difficult swallowing my own spit. Nice eh?! I didn’t manage to make it to band Friday night, and it was Saturday before I was able to move about the house and actually drink a cup of tea! I had a job to do for church so my first priority was that when I could pick my laptop up on Saturday. I missed a band job on Saturday afternoon too (I don’t think they would have been too pleased with me turning up in my jim jams!).  I did feel much better on Sunday but my head was a little bit battered about because of all the drugs I’d had to try and get a grip on my pain. So dear reader, buried deep in this post is my reason for not being able to /up to blogging since last Thursday. Nothing too dramatic other than a bit of illness and being busy with church stuff, but I just haven’t been up to putting the energy into thinking about stringing words together and sitting still long enough to post it online.

A favourite quote for today… “It’ll only take 10 minutes, honest….”

One of my favourite things…is that peace and quiet when I get into my bed with my little side light on and my Kindle is in my hands. Ahhhh bliss.

A few plans for the rest of the week: Oh my gosh….so busy! I’ve got models to prepare, painting to do, music to write, programme’s to set, music to download, posters to print, flyers to make, people to meet, babies to kiss…..that kinda thang!

A peek into my day…

Looking a little like roadkill, this cake was lovely when we ate it tonight!

 

Come and join us at  http://thesimplewomansdaybook.blogspot.com/ and join in!!

4 thoughts on “Daybook Entry – 27th November

Add yours

  1. Sorry to hear you had such a rough few days!

    And isn’t it weird to be making plans for 2013 already?!?!?!? It’s unbelievable to me that 2012 is nearly through.

    Hope that the rest of your week goes well and that you make it through that to do list in one piece!

    Like

    1. I have actually managed to get through most of my to do list, shedding much blood sweat and tears in the process, and it has spawned another mini to-do list as a result. I’m so happy it’s nearly weekend lol!!

      I know what you mean about looking ahead to 2013 already. It feels weird! And I know I say this every year, but this year I really mean it….. hasn’t this year gone FAST?!?!

      Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama!

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

