Daybook Entry for Sunday 2nd December


Daybook Entry

 

FOR TODAY.

It is Advent Sunday, the fourth Sunday before Christmas.
Outside my window…the night is getting colder and the we have sub-zero temperatures forecast for tonight.

I am thinking…about why I behave the way I do and why I react to things the way I do. It’s not a happy thought trail….

I am thankful…for my home. Without it I would be lost.

In the kitchen…we had pasta tonight. I made a sauce with minced beef, tomatoes, courgettes, mushrooms and onions. It was totally delish!

I am wearing…pyjama bottoms and a polo shirt. I’m a bit mixed up today which is reflected by my nighttime/daytime combo.

I am creating…nothing just now. I’ve been working this past week and I haven’t had much time for creating anything crafty. I need to rediscover my creative mojo before I go bananas.

I am going…to go and iron Ethan’s school uniform for morning in a minute. If I can find it in his hobbit hole of a bedroom.

I am wondering…whether I’m going to make it through the next three weeks. Seriously. It’s hard enough getting the family ready for Christmas but for some reason this year I can’t see my way through to the family stuff for everything else I’ve got to do. I think I’ve made a mistake in agreeing to taking on so much just now and as I’m not the type of person to pull out of responsibilities it is preying on my mind that I can’t manage everything I’ve committed myself to. I’m in a no-win situation – I can’t do it, but I can’t pull out of it, but I can’t do it…. I am not at all confident that I have got the reserves of strength to get through everything.

I am reading… still reading “The Chess Men” by Peter May. I’m loving the book and I would normally have finished it by now, but as I said in my last point, there is so much going on at the moment I haven’t had the time or space to read very much recently. I manage a bit each night before I go to bed but it’s not enough!

I am hoping… for a shaft of daylight this week.

I am praying for…strength and courage.

I am looking forward to…family time.

I am learning… that I have got a long way to go.

Around the house… half-done projects, music, mess, people.

I am pondering… how I’m going to handle a tricky situation in the morning.

A favourite quote for today… “Don’t grieve for what things aren’t; rejoice and enjoy what they are” (something I said to my friend in a teary moment this afternoon)

One of my favourite things…is enjoying making Christmas models with the kids at church.

A few plans for the rest of the week: Stay and Play tomorrow morning, visiting Church House tomorrow afternoon, music group meeting Tuesday night, Baptism group meeting Wednesday night, Experience Christmas Wednesday, Thursday and Friday, concert Thursday night, concert Friday night, waitressing Saturday afternoon, concert Sunday afternoon. Amongst other things…..!

A peek into my day…

d minus

It hasn’t been a good day today. If I were grading my efforts today I would give myself a D minus. Looking on the bright side, tomorrow is another day and I will be working on it, I promise!

 

Come and join us at  http://thesimplewomansdaybook.blogspot.com/ and join in!!

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Daybook and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daybook Entry for Sunday 2nd December

  1. Praying for you to get through these hectic December days gracefully and easily!

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

