Thorns In The Straw


I was introduced to this song today for the first time and I had to share it with you tonight because of how much it moved me. I am going to use it tomorrow when the first of our school groups visits us in church for Experience Christmas, but we sang it tonight at our new music group too. I’m not the world’s best guitar player, but with Helen also playing, and Lorraine, Marie-Claire and Kevin singing along too we made a pretty decent attempt at it.

I had one of those rare moments while we played this where I lose where I am in this world and find myself somewhere else. It happened on about the third or fourth run through/practice of it and it was as if my fingers on the strings, the notes on the page and the words being sung around me all blended together and became one whole experience. I have felt that only a handful of times when I’ve been playing music myself, it is more usually something I experience when I’m listening to music  and am in a sort of trance-like state of mind. There is no feeling like it on Earth.

I hope you are as moved by this as I am.

 

 

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thorns In The Straw

  1. Ray's Mom says:

    Touching, I had never heard this before. enjoyed listening as it brought the meaning of Christmas close to home.

    Like

  2. Ray's Mom says:

    Reblogged this on JUSTICE FOR RAYMOND and commented:
    How beautiful this song of the true meaning of Christmas

    Like

  3. Maxi says:

    Touching, beautiful; it has been a long time since a song has moved me so much.
    Blessings ~ Maxi

    Like

  4. What a beautiful song!Thanks for sharing it!

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

