Marshmallow Hodgepodge


It’s a Marshmallow World in the Hodgepodge

Welcome to this week’s edition of The Wednesday Hodgepodge.  Be sure to add your link at the end of Joyce’s original post before you get back to your shopping and wrapping.  Pop in on some of the other players too, because who doesn’t need a little Christmas cheer in the middle of their week?

Click here to join in with Joyce’s Hodgepodge

Here are my answers-

1.  So, when did you last take a walk in the woods? A stroll along the beach? A drive going nowhere in particular in the car?

The last time I did anything like that just for the sake of it would have been on holiday this year. We love going for a drive to nowhere in particular when we visit a different area. It adds to the enjoyment of the place and we regularly explore places by car. As for walking in the woods or the beach the last time we walked in the woods would have been on Bonfire Night (5th November) when we walked through Heaton Park to watch the fireworks and the fire. There were strings of pretty fairy lights in the trees and there was enough light to see by but it was dark enough to lend a beautiful ethereal atmosphere to the park.

2.  Are you sending Christmas cards this year?  About how many do you send?  Photo card or something more traditional?  How do you display the cards you receive? 

I will be giving cards out to band and church friends, neighbours in the street and family members and I will be posting some to family and friends who live away. I don’t usually send photos…..goodness gracious no!….and the ones I like to send are pretty traditional. When I worked I used to receive quite a lot of cards and they got hung on horizontal strings in the living room but now I don’t work I don’t get as many so we will have fewer lines this year. The kids always bring home lots from school so there’s always plenty to make the living room look festive!

3. What’s a word you’ve heard too much of in the past week?

I’m going to nominate a phrase that has haunted me for months now, ever since this season’s X-Factor started…. “You really made that song your own”. I HATE that! Why do the judges insist on saying the same thing to the contestants week in and week out? They did NOT make that song their own, at all. At best they do a decent impression of someone else who has done a different arrangement to the original. Bah!!!!

4. December 13th is National Cocoa Day-are you a fan?  Plain or flavoured?  Marshmallows or no marshmallows?

I don’t really like cocoa because it is a bit too strong tasting for me, but I do like the occasional mug of hot chocolate. I’m like Joyce in that it is like a dessert in a cup when I do it, with marshmallows, whipped cream and sprinkles on top. Just once in a while doesn’t do any harm does it?

5. What is something you do to help alleviate the hectic pace of the Christmas season?

listLists. I have even been known to do lists of the lists I need to do before now! I always factor in time away from doing things too so that I can just relax and not thing about what has got to be done yet. The other thing I do the alleviate the hectic pace of Christmas is to be realistic about what I can achieve and what I can manage to get done. Of course, the other side of that is to accept that what I can’t do isn’t worth grieving over and to just enjoy what we have got done.

6. Besides jewellery, what’s a favourite sparkly-glittery item in your home or closet?

I don’t do sparkly glitter at all I’m afraid! The only jewellery I have is my wedding ring and that is just a plain gold band. I don’t have any sparkly clothes either, sorry!!

7. Share a favourite line or two from any Christmas carol.

“The first nowell the angels did say was to certain poor shepherds in fields where they lay”. 

Annunciation to the Shepherds
Annunciation to the Shepherds

This is from my all time favourite carol “The First Nowell”. I love it because I really identify with the shepherds – they were ordinary, working men who were doing a job that was not particularly popular, was poorly paid but was essential to the local economy. God chose to deliver the first news to them precisely because they were so ordinary.

8.  Insert your own random thought here. 

I shared this video on Facebook earlier today and I thought you might like to hear it too dear follower. It is a song that I would NEVER have listened to unless I’d been forced to, which I was on Monday this week at a funeral for a Jamaican man. I’d never heard of the artist before and to be honest, if I’d seen this on a playlist somewhere I would have just skipped it because of what my pre-conceptions were about his name and the name of the song. When you listen to the lyrics (please ignore the odd swear word that has slipped in!) you’ll see that he is singing about his vision of what heaven is. It’s a lovely vision if I may say so. He speaks about leaving the pain and frustration of life back on earth behind him, and he envisions a place where he can relax with his friends and family in the presence of God. Or “chilling with my homies” as he puts it! It’s a really moving song and I’m blown away by the way that it overturns my preconceived ideas about so-called gangster rap. Let me know what you think.

 

4 thoughts on “Marshmallow Hodgepodge

Add yours

  1. Lists do make things a little easier. If you stick to a list then you tend to not sped as much since it cuts out the impulse buys. Plus making a list helps you remember what you need, at least it does me.

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama!

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

