All Change!!


I haven’t blogged for a few days – for reasons that I will come to in a minute – and when I logged on to WordPress I see that it’s all changed. Hmmm…..not sure I like the new layout. In fact, I’m quite sure I don’t like it but hey ho, change is inevitable and I suppose one must roll with it!

Talking of “all change” things have been changing here too. My father-in-law was taken ill on Thursday night and we got a call at about 9.30pm to go and help him. We ended up sending for the doctor, who in turn sent for an ambulance because he suspected he had had a mini stroke. We sat in the hospital from just after midnight until 4.30am before the doctor saw him, and after two ECGs (the first was decidedly dodgy) she decided that yes, he probably had had a stroke. She was a bit alarmed….not surprising since we’d been sitting waiting to see someone for nearly 5 hours in the freezing cold waiting room and he hadn’t had any treatment for it. They tell us don’t they, that when a stroke strikes, speed is of the essence. So why then, when we arrive with blue lights flashing at the hospital, they leave us sat there for that length of time?? That’s the NHS for you.

The change I refer to is that my mother in law has Parkinson’s disease as well as other health problems, and my father in law is her full-time carer. He is 78 and is not in the best of health himself. As you can imagine, this mini stroke on Thursday serves as a warning to us that we have to look after him more and we have to do something about the care arrangements for her. For the first instance we have to change the way we think about parents and their seeming infallibility. Also, we have to change our way of thinking about other members of the family and the roles we all have to play in supporting them. Change is also going to happen when and if this mini stroke turns out to be a precursor to a bigger, more catastrophic one. It’s well documented that mini strokes rarely occur just the once.

More changes to report, a bit more on the brighter side this time. As you will know (if you’ve been following me for a while) I have been unable to take part in my lifelong hobby of playing my cornet in brass bands for the past three years because of ill health and recently I took up the baton and am now a conductor instead of a player. I absolutely love the role of conductor. It has given me a new lease of life, literally.

I have changed my outlook on life; my confidence in public speaking has come on in leaps and bounds; I no longer fear an audience (it used to feel like facing the lions den!)….. the list goes on. Greatest of all the changes is that this year I’ve changed the way I look and feel about Christmas music. Being a bandsman all my life, Christmas is the season where music gets really old really quickly and playing the same dozen or so pieces concert in and concert out is enough to drive a sane person round the twist. But this year, being in the position to choose the concert programme myself, I have found that have really enjoyed playing the Christmas “cheese” and am looking forward to doing a couple of arrangements for next year.

I know that change is to be expected but some changes are more difficult than others aren’t they? We all know that parents and other loved ones are going to develop health problems and will pass on – difficult change to adapt to. Developing a greater appreciation for life and music and love – easy and much more lovelier change to accept.

I know which one I prefer.

Image

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Comment, Family and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to All Change!!

  1. dderbydave says:

    I think we live in a state of change and looking for constants is a thing we all do to cope. It’s like grasping for rocks in a swirling river. But change is always there and recognising it and living with it is a lesson in life.

    Like

    • sterlingsop says:

      Absolutely! There is one change that I did find hard to accept on Thursday night/Friday morning and that was the number of security staff that were there in A&E at the Royal Oldham Hospital…..blimey o reilly….patients attacking staff, visitors attacking patients, patients attacking patients….!! We usually go to North Manchester but my father in law lives in Failsworth so that was the hospital of choice. I think the word “never again” are hovering at the forefront of my mind!!

      Like

  2. hownottokillyourparents says:

    Taking care of older loved ones – even if nothing more is wrong than the fact that they are getting old – can be a big, scary change. But it can be pretty wonderful too, in a weird, unexpected sort of way.

    Like

    • sterlingsop says:

      Thank you for your comment, it’s lovely to hear from you 🙂

      You’re right – facing the fact that my husband’s parents are getting from the “older” to the “elderly” stage is a big step to take but it’s a necessary one. There’s a whole load of issues of recognising our own sense of growing older wrapped up with this too. We no longer have parents who are looking out for us; the roles have reversed somewhat.

      Like

  3. misswhiplash says:

    I don’t know what they have done to WP but I do not like it..I cannot get my pictures onto my post..so that is the reason I have not written for some time…I just do not understand how to do it now.
    sorry to hear about your Dad, i do hope that he will make a full recovery

    Like

    • sterlingsop says:

      Thank you Patrecia. It is my husband’s Dad who is ill but family is family isn’t it? My husband has had a shock this week – I don’t think it has occurred to him before now that his parents are fallible and are not invincible.

      As for adding posts, I’ve sussed it out. Try this:
      When you log in you are taken to a home page with a light blue banner. Click on the tab that says “your blogs” and you will see a link to your own dashboard. If you click on that you will get to the old dashboard with all the tools down the left hand side, including Posts. When you click “new post” there, you will get the old composition screen that has ALL the tools on, including adding links and photos etc. Took me a while but I got there in the end!

      Like

  4. mairedubhtx says:

    I for one wish WP would stop with the changes. And Apple as well. They’ve made it so I can’t figure out how to download pictures to my blog now. I gues I’ll eventually figure it out but it’s a pain.
    Here in the States, our lives were changed forever with the mass killing of 20 little children and 7 adults at a school in Connecticut by a mentally unbalanced young man who took his own life. We are all heart-broken. These were 6 and 7 year olds and their teachers, principle, and school psychologist. One teacher sheltered her class in a closet and stood outside the door of the closet and was shot and killed. She was a hero. We need to seriously fight the gun lobby in this country and begin a serious discussion on the easy access of guns and ammunition. If not now, when?

    Like

    • sterlingsop says:

      My heart goes out to all those affected by the mass killing earlier this week. It just doesn’t make sense how someone can possibly think that killing CHILDREN is any way the right thing to do….it’s beyond my comprehension.

      I’ve worked out the WordPress thing. When you log in you are taken to a home page with a light blue banner. Click on the tab that says “your blogs” and you will see a link to your own dashboard. If you click on that you will get to the old dashboard with all the tools down the left hand side, including Posts. When you click “new post” there, you will get the old composition screen that has ALL the tools on, including adding links and photos etc. Took me a while but I got there in the end!

      Like

  5. So sorry to hear about your father-in-law. Praying for him! Would you mind sharing his name so that I can prayer for him other than has “Pam’s father-in-law” ?

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

