Wednesday Hodgepodge – 19th December


Welcome to my Hodgepodge entry for this week. If you want to play along please visit Joyce here and follow her instructions. Welcome aboard, let’s go for it!!

 

hodgepodge button big

1.  How will you spend ‘the night before Christmas’?

We will be going to church at around 4.30pm for a Crib Service – a service aimed at children (of all ages!)  where we tell the Christmas story by laying the characters in the crib. It’s a lovely way to start Christmas and is a total joy to be part of. After that we will come home for our first meal of the feast. In recent years we have done our version of fasting on Christmas Eve which is then broken when we come back from church and we begin the feast of Christmas. We won’t eat too much but we will be treating ourselves. Usually we will be visited by my husband’s sister and her husband at some point and then there is usually a bit of last minute wrapping to do.

We will be setting out a mince pie and a glass of sherry for Santa and a carrot for the reindeer and pinning up stockings on the fireplace before we go to bed. Even though my kids are 19 and nearly 14 it’s still one of those things we do as tradition and I can’t see us ever abandoning that. When Emma was born we bought her a little stocking to hang up and then when Ethan came along we replaced that one with a Winnie the Pooh and a Tigger one for the pair of them. We pin those up for them even now, and we have taken to pinning up Emma’s original stocking for her boyfriend Sam as well. He’s 25 but seems to enjoy the novelty!!

2.  What is something you are not?

I am not at all good at controlling my anxiety and stress. I am good with the things that I can control but for the things that are out of my hands I am terrible. I wish I could learn to let things go but I get irrationally anxious about the most ridiculous things.

3.  Fudge-are you a fan?  Your favourite flavour?

I do like fudge but I can only have little bits of it because I find it very sweet and sickly. I’m not a fan of messing about with traditional foods and flavours so my fudge flavour of choice is vanilla.

4. Did you attend any craft/vendor fairs in the month of December?  Do you prefer homemade goodies or the more professional stalls?  Are you giving any homemade gifts this year? 

We had a craft fair at church at the end of November which was fantastic. I do like homemade goodies and it doesn’t bother me that they are less than perfect to look at because to me, the beauty of homemade is in the love that has gone into it by someone’s own hands. That’s true of biscuits, cakes, sweets, cards, clothes, hats, decorations….. Homemade is better for me.  And yes, I will be giving some homemade gifts this year. I do a mean chocolate truffle and I have been told my shortbread is rather nice too so there will be some of those made soon.

5. What’s your favourite type of holiday gathering?

Informal ones where lots of people turn up out of the blue and we have a good time just by being in each other’s company. Lots of food, lots of fun, lots of family, lots of love = happy times!

6. We’re approaching a new year…what’s going to be different in 2013?

This is dangerously close to a “what are your new year’s resolutions?” type question! I would like to think that my attitude will be different in 2013. Not that there’s anything wrong with it this year, but I think there is definitely room for improvement. My biggest fault is that my lack of self-confidence stops me doing so many things, and it’s criminal!

7. Share a favourite scripture, quote, saying, or song lyric relating to peace. 

 “Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called sons of God”. Matthew 5:9

8.  Insert your own random thought here. 
I have been playing carols again tonight!!

(Tori's head at the bottom left) Kevin, Me, Emma, Phil and John

(Tori’s head at the bottom left) Kevin, Me, Emma, Phil and John

Kevin, Me, Emma and Phil (just out of shot on the left is Tori and on the right was John)

Kevin, Me, Emma and Phil (just out of shot on the left is Tori and on the right was John)

 

If you’ve been inspired to complete your own Hodgepodge this week please hop over to Joyce and follow her instructions. Happy Hodgepodge!!!

 

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Wednesday Hodgepodge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wednesday Hodgepodge – 19th December

  1. J.Day says:

    My lack of self-confidence stops me from doing stuff, too.

    Like

  2. jodaley says:

    Mince pies and a glass of sherry…the Santa I know would be happy with that : ) Wishing you and your family a very happy Christmas!

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

