Looking Forward


I love Christmas. Did you know that? I love it for all sorts of reasons, mainly that it offers a sustained period of downtime to spend with the family after the frenetic rush that was December. Being involved with both church and band, my time in December is dominated by responsibilities, duties and activities outside of the house and so Christmas comes as a blessed relief.

Strictly speaking, it’s not really Christmas that offers that relief because Christmas Day is as hectic as the rest of December, but the rest and relaxation for me starts on Boxing Day (the day after Christmas Day). There is plenty of food in the fridge, there are plenty of treats swishing about the house, there are games to be played, sleep to be had, movies to be watched and plans to be made.

calendarAdmittedly the planning stages don’t come for a few days yet, but that golden bubble we exist in from Boxing Day until New Year starts to feel a little bit constrictive by roundabout day 3 and so my thoughts and ideas are starting to take a forward projection now. Things get a bit stale being cooped up in the house and so naturally, thoughts start to percolate towards the “what can I do to liven things up” stage.

I hesitate to use the phrase “New Year Resolutions” because there are so many negative connotations attached to it. My past experience with starting diets and savings plan for example is just horrible and usually by February all bets are off. However, I have found for the past couple of years that if I set myself a couple of achievable goals for the year not only do I manage to reach them but I can feel myself growing as a result of striving for them. I think the key is to set a goal that is realistic but is still a genuine challenge.

This year, I am looking forward to making more of my online business and selling my crafts. I am collaborating with Kevin my husband and Jody my Mum. We all have our own special interests and skills so we are pooling resources and getting it together to run a proper business. We did tinker about with it at the start of last year but we lacked a little too much in the way of dedication to get it going properly so this year is going to be different. We have got a better understanding of how to build networks using Facebook and Twitter, and we understand more about what it means to be a craft seller – especially the early mornings and stacks of boxes needed to sell at a craft fair!!  We have a target figure that we want to make by the end of the year but I don’t want to publish that just yet. I will eventually though, I promise.

As well as working on our craft selling business, my sights are firmly set ahead on some training I will be doing starting on 12th January. I may have mentioned before but I am going to be training as an Authorised Lay Minister with a speciality in prayer and spirituality for my church. It sounds really grand doesn’t it, but really, it’s just an extension of that particular side of me and because I will have have the authority of my church, I will be able to help other people on their own paths with regards to their relationship with God. I’ll blog about it more as we go, but for now all I can say is that I have a reading list as long as my arm and I’m really, really excited about getting started.

Lastly, and by no means least, I am looking forward to enjoying my life. I have spent the last three years being weighed down by my health condition and everything that entails, and I am looking forward to getting on with things without that particular aspect of myself taking centre stage. I’ve let it dominate the things I do (or don’t do, more accurately) and it’s time to move on and get on with LIVING instead of EXISTING.

So, as far as New Year Resolutions go it’s not a bad statement is it? It’s not so much of a list of things to do as a set of goals I want to achieve. For the purists among you, I will give you a list of resolutions as well….if I must!!

I resolve to:

1. Post a blog entry every day in 2013.

2. Take more exercise – at least 3 one-hour walks each week.

3. Lose a stone by the end of the year.

4. Keep a track of the books I read in 2013.

5. Get ready for Christmas earlier than I did this year….July is looking a favourite starting point  at the moment!!

 

OK, OK some of those are more easily attainable than others, I know that, but who’s with me? Fancy joining in with any challenges with me? I’d love to join up with anyone who is up for a postaday challenge, and I wouldn’t mind keeping up with your book list too.

 

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Looking Forward

  1. mairedubhtx says:

    Those are all good resolutions. I hope your craft business does well. I hope you post every day. I enjoy reading your posts. I hope I post every day. I haven’t been the most faithful this past year. Maybe I’ll be better this coming year.

    Like

    • sterlingsop says:

      Thank you so much 🙂 I’m always grateful for positive feedback and when you say you enjoy my posts then it makes me try all the harder to produce something worthwhile each day.

      Looking forward to 2013, I hope you have the best of times ahead of you. Best wishes, Pam

      Like

  2. viviellevirgule says:

    Looking forward to your post a day. I always enjoy what you put up!

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

