What A Difference A Day Makes


I had a terrible day yesterday. I have been feeling progressively more unwell since the top of the year and yesterday was the worst day yet. I woke up with a very sore and achy body, a banging headache, swollen glands in my neck and round the back of my head, an intense swelling under my ribs…. awful start to the day. I struggled on and got through the day, heading to bed feeling like someone had been battering me all day with a baseball bat.

The night was no better – I woke up suddenly at 2.22am (from a hallucinatory dream, but that’s a different story!), and the house was just full of odd noises that put me on edge. I couldn’t get up because I felt so ill, but I couldn’t stay in bed because the noises were frightening me. I didn’t have it in my heart to wake Kevin up to go and investigate and it was only the pressure of nature’s call that eventually got me up. It took me ages to get to sleep again – I couldn’t get comfy and whichever way I lay the pressure pain was as bad as the rest.

I started today very slowly and it was about 11.30am by the time I had got myself up and showered and was downstairs to have my breakfast. My friend Phil rang me a bit later and said he was going for a walk in Saddleworth, did I want to go with him?

It was with a lot of trepidation that I said yes…. I didn’t really want to get dressed properly and I was scared that by walking the pain would get worse and all the rest, but I said yes anyway.

And boy am I glad I did!!! When you look at how bad things were yesterday and overnight last night, this afternoon couldn’t have been any bigger in contrast. We went to Dovestones Reservoir (a favourite place of mine anyway). The sky was blue, the snow was deep and crisp, the wind was cold, the scenery was breathtaking…in short it was stunning.

I really enjoyed breathing the cold, clear air. I relished the eye-watering cold wind on my face. I revelled in the feeling of being FREE in the sunshine, and I was filled with joy at just being by the water. In case you don’t believe me, here’s some pictures for you.

What a difference a day makes!!

12 thoughts on “What A Difference A Day Makes

Add yours

    1. Haha!! I love the capitalisation, you made me laugh out loud when I read that! It’s not so cold here today but we are expecting more snow on Friday. It’s my son’s birthday on Saturday so fingers crossed we can take him sledging 🙂

      Like

  1. don’t you think that you should go and get checked out. ! I got two gallstones you can add to your list..I am giving them to the highest bidder!!

    Like

    1. Thanks Patrecia 🙂 I’ve had all the scans and tests available and there are definitely no gallstones in there I’m afraid. I’ve had four endoscopies in the last three years and they’ve not shown anything like that. It’s part of the reason I get down so much to be honest. If only I knew for certain what the pain was then I could deal with it a bit better. Sometimes it’s the fear of the unknown that beats me up!!

      Like

  2. Glad the walk helped. That is a pretty good snow cover for your neck of the woods. We do not have that much more in Vermont right now. Trust that your temperature is milder. We are expected to go down to -11F overnight.

    Like

  3. Lovely pictures!

    I was thinking of you earlier today. I was flying back from visiting my sister, b-i-l, and their son, and we flew right over Manchester and I waved. 🙂

    Hope you are feeling better!

    Like

    1. Haha!! If I’d have known I would have waved back 🙂
      I feel quite a lot better today thank you. It’s amazing what a bit of fresh air and sunshine can do for your spirit isn’t it?!

      Like

    1. Thank you. As the week has worn on I have felt better each day. I always make the effort to see the bright side of things because I have suffered with bouts of depression over the years and I know that if I don’t find that strength to see the goodness and the brightness in things then there is the potential for the darkness to consume me. Having been consumed in the past and fought my way out of it I take great care not to let it get a hold of me again. It’s not easy, but my faith and my optimism is a great gift that I try to use for best use. I’m glad to hear that my story reaches out and touches you. Thank you for commenting.

      Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama! All images on the site are copyright to Brendan. Please credit any useage, or ask.

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

