Lovely Wednesday Hodgepodge


Welcome to this week’s edition of the Wednesday Hodgepodge. So glad you joined the party today…be sure to add your link to the bottom of my post before you run off to visit the neighbours. Here we go~

Wednesday Hodgepodge

1. This week marks the beginning of Lent…will you be giving something up or adding anything to your life during this season of the year? 

I don’t have any plans to give anything up for Lent. It’s not something that I have ever done and I can’t see myself ever doing so. Not that there’s anything wrong with it but it just doesn’t figure as part of my faith or my devotion to Christ. I view it as a period of preparation, almost like Advent in a way, and it is with that in mind that I will be actively upping my meditation and prayer time as well as attending Lenten Bible studies with my church.

2. The day before Lent is Shrove Tuesday…tradition states you eat pancakes on this day. In some parts of the world Shrove Tuesday is actually known as ‘pancake day’.  How do you like your pancakes?  Or don’t you? 

We mark Shrove Tuesday with pancakes in my house, although we missed it this year. We were all too busy to get on with our evening activities to be able to spend time making and eating them as we were tonight. I think we will be having Shrove Thursday this year!

I make them myself – about 8oz of plain flour, an egg and as much milk as it needs to make the mixture into a batter the consistency of single cream. I then fry them in a little bit of lard (margarine or butter just doesn’t taste the same and for once a year I’m sure my arteries can handle it!) and serve them with lemon juice and sugar.

3. I’m sure there are many, but what is one love song you really love?

I love “I Will Always Love You” as sung by Dolly Parton. I don’t like what Whitney Houston did with it, all that diva treatment spoiled the simplicity of the sentiment for me, but Dolly sings it beautifully and it touches me every time I hear it.

4. What are some things you do to let others know you love them?

I think it can be summed up by the word “service”. That is not to say I turn myself into a grovelling servant, but to put myself at the service of other people is the way I show I love them. Words are one thing, but actions are a totally different kettle of fish.

5. Roses…red, pink, or some other colour?  Can you recall the last time someone gave you flowers?  Given your choice would you like to open the door and see a dozen red roses, a dozen purple tulips, or a dozen pink peonies?

I love to see deep red roses, but I’m not too keen on the smell. I might be alone in this but roses always smell weird to me! I do like to see them though.

The last time I was given flowers was a couple of days ago by my daughter Emma and she brought me a bunch of daffodils to cheer me up.

6. President’s Day will be celebrated next Monday. Does Presidential history and trivia interest you?  Many Presidential homes are open to the public and offer guided tours…Monticello (Jefferson’s home), Mount Vernon (Washington’s home), Montpelier (James Madison’s home), Hyde Park (FD Roosevelt’s home) and The White House (home to the sitting President), to name just a few.  Of those listed, which would you be most interested in touring?  Why?

I am a big fan of history but admit that to my shame, my knowledge of American history is practically nil so anything that would help me learn and understand more then I’m all for it! I have a very rudimentary working knowledge of the “big” events in American history so none of the names mentioned above mean very much to me but I would like to visit Washington at some point so maybe I could drop in at Mount Vernon to have a looksee.

7. Are you good at keeping secrets? 

I certainly am.

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

We had my favourite home-made soup for tea tonight. I made a batch of bacon and lentil soup and it has gone down so well that there isn’t even enough left for me to photograph for you!

It is simple to make: soak approx 300g of red split lentils in cold water for about an hour. Chop up two sticks of celery, two carrots and an onion and let them sweat in a bit of olive oil for about 5 minutes, then add six rashers of smoked back bacon which has been chopped into bite sized pieces. Turn the heat up so the bacon fat renders down and starts to coat the vegetables, and when the bacon looks cooked add the drained lentils. Add half a teaspoon of smoked paprika (normal paprika can be used, but I prefer the taste of the smoked one because it matches the smokey bacon flavour and brings out the taste of the lentils better). Cover the lentils, bacon and vegetables with boiling water (a couple of litres is usually enough for me) and add two stock cubes of your choice. I used a Knorr chicken stock pot gel and a vegetable one tonight.

Simmer the soup gently for about half an hour then add a tin of chopped tomatoes. Simmer it for as long as it takes for hungry tummies to come running into the kitchen and yelling to be fed!!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Lovely Wednesday Hodgepodge

Add yours

  1. I had never even heard of Shrove Tuesday and it’s been a tradition of yours…now that cool! I love flowers that best when they are “just because!”
    Your soup sounds yummy. I have a black bean soup in the crockpot right now. It’s a new one so I’m not sure how it will be yet…..

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama! All images on the site are copyright to Brendan. Please credit any useage, or ask.

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

