Wednesday Hodgepodge


Wednesday Hodgepodge

Thank you once again to Joyce for bringing us a brilliant set of questions in her weekly Hodgepodge. Please click the button above to find her original post and link with her if you want to join in. I love doing these, they are great fun and today’s questions have really got me thinking. Come on in and join us!

1. My real life friends came through with another question this week so thank you real life friends.  When you’ve eaten in a restaurant do you complete their comment card? Do you take online surveys highlighted at the bottom of store receipts?


I would only really fill in a comment card or opinion poll/survey if I’d had a particularly good or particularly bad experience. If the food was ok and the service was ok then I probably wouldn’t comment. However, if there was something really dire or really excellent then I would make my feelings known. I like to compliment where it’s due, especially with service.

2. The (US) ban on women in combat was lifted at the end of January.  It will probably be next year before specifics are worked out but it’s been reported over 200,000 front line positions will eventually open up to women.  Your thoughts?

British women have been in combat on the front line for some time now, and there even women on submarines now too. There was a story a couple of months ago about a woman on the front line in Afghanistan who didn’t know she was pregnant and gave birth out there which brought this subject back into the public consciousness for a brief moment. My thoughts about the subject is that if a woman feels she is up to the physical and emotional battering she will get on the front line then there’s no reason for her not to go. However, I find it uncomfortable with women being there because it goes a little against nature really. Women are genetically programmed to nurture, not fight and defend, and it flies in the face of natural instincts to be in a position where they would be called on to take life if needed.

The thing that holds me back from saying outright that women should NOT be sent to the front line is that modern warfare is not just about fighting and killing. We have a peacekeeping role to perform too and where the battlefield is civilian towns and settlements rather than remote (and empty) fields of old, women have an important part to play with breaking down the mistrust and the fear from the people they are trying to protect. I’m thinking especially of women and children, who are often overlooked if places like Afghanistan, Syria, Mali….sadly, the list goes on.

3. In looking back at all the blog posts you’ve written, what’s your favorite post title?

“Blue Chin”. It was an article I wrote right at the start of my blogging adventure and whenever I read it or conjure it up in my mind it makes me laugh. I remember laughing so much whilst writing it that I had tears rolling down my face and it still makes me chuckle now when I re-read it all these years later. The title doesn’t really tell you much about the subject, it’s more of an association thing for me. It refers to my first time with wax strips on my chin whilst drunk, and I won’t say any more than that. I can feel my giggle bubble rising again! If you must, here’s the link….apologies in advance for the language.

4. What’s worse-overly permissive parents or overly protective parents? Did your own parents lean toward the permissive or the protective category? If you’re a parent where do you fall?

I think overly protective parents end up doing more harm than good because (generally) children who have every decision made for them, every danger removed from them, every upset healed immediately, every difficult situation managed for them etc grow up not having the skills to make informed choices and the general life skills needed to get on as adults. I’m not saying that overly permissive parents do a better job because kids left to their own devices can get into areas that really are harmful, but they do learn skills that will help them get over disappointments, manage their time properly, learn that life isn’t fair and it hurts sometimes.

Growing up, I remember being left to my own devices quite a lot when it came to my leisure time. It was fantastic. I invented things, I discovered books, I fought my own fights, I learned how to get myself home with a broken bike, I had a large group of friends, I was active, I got bored, I had adventure and most of all I had fun. Don’t get me wrong, of course my parents loved me, but they didn’t go out of their way to protect me from the natural rough and tumble of life as a kid. I got into trouble for ripping clothes and I got into a lot of trouble for breaking my bike, but then I learned how to take better care of things….and how to fix the problem before my Mum found out! I couldn’t hide the injury to my leg after an “adventure” on a building site once (I still have the dent in my shinbone from crashing into a floor joist) and I still have the scars on my back from when I fell through a glass door (showing off to my mates….) but those things taught me the valuable lesson of risk assessment and they were things that I didn’t repeat. Well, not where my Mum could find out anyway!

Myself as a parent I tend to be a bit permissive but my kids don’t really push me like I pushed my parents as a kid. I wish my son was a bit more adventurous but we live in a different world now and there’s no way he could get up to the things I did – playing on a building site?? – but my daughter seems to be carrying my risk-taking gene. She went hiking in Scotland this weekend and the photos she has brought back are literally breath-taking. I’m glad she didn’t tell me beforehand that they would be ice-climbing and would be on top of the mountains. She hiked along the knife edge of a mountain top that was covered in several feet of snow and ice and if I’d known that before I wouldn’t have let her go, but as a 19 year old young woman studying for a law degree and serving as a Royal Navy reserve I couldn’t really have stopped her, could I?!

5. Candlelight-moonlight-firelight-bright lights in the big city….which one’s your favourite?

I’m with you Joyce, I like them all in their own way and depending on my mood! If I had to pick absolutely ONE then it would have to be firelight.

6. Dr. Seuss’s birthday was celebrated on Saturday. What’s a favourite book you remember (Seuss or otherwise) from your childhood?  Did books play an important role in your growing up years?  Explain.

Books played a MASSIVE part of my childhood and I have been a lifelong lover of all things book-ish and story-ish.

Before I discovered the joy of free-reading (reading on my own) I was extremely privileged to have had a Dad who read to me most nights before bed, which was bliss. He worked two jobs a lot of my childhood and one of them was evenings so he wasn’t always home, but when he was he made sure he spent at least 15 minutes or so reading to me. We went on brilliant adventures together in those moments before sleep time and we worked our way through a plethora of children’s books. It’s difficult to pick a favourite because there was so many, but I remember asking him to read “Fattypuffs and Thinnyfers” to me again and again because it was so good.

I discovered reading on my own with a book I borrowed from a friend – Enid Blyton’s Famous Five – and once I started that my world changed overnight. Literally. It wasn’t enough for my Dad to read to me, I had to read for myself and I ended up reading on in the books he was reading to me and gradually he stopped because I quite often finished the book before he did!  It’s funny because we both still are voracious readers and we quite often pass books on to each other if we think the other will enjoy it. There is a great big area of crossover that interests us both thankfully, although military stories and spies leave me for cold. I don’t think my liking for the occasional romance has my Dad enthralled either!

7. To quote Dr. Seuss…

“From there to here, and here to there, funny things are everywhere.” 

from One fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish


Share something funny you’ve recently read, seen, or heard.

Why is it we see and hear funny things all the time, but when someone asks us to share one, we’re blank?  (I hear you you Joyce!!)

My son was looking through our music files on the computer to transfer to his mp3 player, and he said to me “Mum, who was Angus Day?”.

I said, “what do you mean?” and he said “Angus, Angus Day – spelled D-E-I?”.

I chuckled when it dawned me what he was asking, and so I said “You mean ‘Agnus Dei’. It’s part of church choral music”.

He said, (typical 14 year old boy to mother with a disdainful sideways glance….) “Yeah I know that, I’m in the choral music folder, but….. who is he??”. Bless him, it was a moment or three before I could explain it to him!

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

We have had two days of lovely Spring sunshine this week, but the weather today is very strange. It’s very murky out there and it feels like an oily cloud has lowered itself over us. The air is not just damp but positively moist, and it smells dank and fusty too. Odd!

3 thoughts on “Wednesday Hodgepodge

Add yours

  1. That’s a cute story about your son and the music. I wish I would have had books in my childhood but I didn’t. My parents didn’t read. I also think if a woman wants to be on the front line she should be able to but I don’t think a woman should be forced to if she doesn’t want to. Have a great weekend.

    Like

    1. Hi Debby thanks for visiting and leaving your comment. I hope your lack of books in your childhood hasn’t spoiled your love (?) of books as an adult. I just can’t imagine a life without bookshelves crammed with them now!

      Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama! All images on the site are copyright to Brendan. Please credit any useage, or ask.

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

