Wednesday Hodgepodge – 27th March


1. What are your plans for Easter?  Are you cooking a big lunch or dinner?  Dyeing eggs?  Attending a sun rise service?  Eating too much chocolate? 

I would love to go to a sunrise service, preferably somewhere with a strong Celtic history so somewhere like Lindisfarne would be spiritually fulfilling for me. But, as I’ll be here at home in Manchester I will be going to our church service on Easter Sunday morning at 11am and then I’m not sure what’s going to happen. Ethan will be away with school and Emma is living between here and her boyfriend’s house so she might be around, she might not. It will be a quiet weekend I think!

I’m not a huge chocolate lover (we still have stashes of chocolate left over from Christmas still to eat yet!) but I might try my hand at making some hot cross buns.
2. What is something you feel too young to do?

Be a grandma. My daughter is 19 so biologically ready for children I suppose, but I’m waaaaay too young to be a grandparent yet!
3. “Love is patient, love is kind.  It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud…it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs…”

Of the characteristics mentioned in the Biblical definition of love, which do you find most difficult to live out and why?

I agree with Joyce, the keeping record of wrongs is for me the most difficult to live out, but my own wrongs are the most difficult to wipe off the record. I know that as Christians we take our sins to God and we ask forgiveness for them and his forgiveness does set our record straight, but there are some things that I’ve done that I feel so ashamed of that no matter how much I KNOW God forgives me, I can’t remove them from my own record.
4. What’s a springtime flower you associate with your childhood?

Hyacinths. They are the primary school teacher’s flower of choice and whenever I smell them I am right back there in my school room. I love them!
5. Ever sung karaoke?  If so what’s your go-to song?  If not, and given the opportunity, would you?

No no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no NO NO NO NO!!!!!!! **shudder**

The closest thing I come to singing in public is either in my band rehearsals when I sing the line of music I want to hear, or in church when I’m singing hymns. Karaoke? Nokey dokey!!
6. What is something you keep in a basket?

I have baskets in my bedroom unit and I keep all my deodrants, hairspray, lotions, hairbrushes, hair mousse etc in one of them. The other is filled with debris……you know how it is?!
7. When was the last time you felt foolish?

I felt a bit of a fool this evening actually. We were in church with several families who were bringing children for baptism and the session was being led by Ian and Eddie (Ian is the vicar of our neighbouring church and Eddie is my vicar, both very good friends of mine and of each other). Ian made a joke at Eddie’s expense and I meant to chuckle quietly but I coughed at the same time and it came out a bit like a bark. So loud and it just cut through everything else. I felt a bit of a fool because it drew attention to me which I really didn’t want.
8.  Insert your own random thought here. 

Ethan is going to be travelling to Paris with school tomorrow night. He leaves Manchester at 9pm and they will be on a coach until dawn, when they will be on a ferry crossing to Calais. They will then be driving to a chateau just outside Paris and will be spending 3 days taking in the sights and sounds of France’s capital. They will be going for a boat trip on the river Seine, going up the Eiffel Tower and spending a day at Disneyland Paris before travelling back home on Monday. He’s all packed and apart from a bit of last minute currency changing tomorrow (I forgot about that until just now!) he’s all ready to go. He’s a lucky boy, I wish I was going with him, it sounds like a great trip.

Bon voyage son!!

 

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Wednesday Hodgepodge and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wednesday Hodgepodge – 27th March

  1. debby9972 says:

    I’m here feeling I am getting to old to be a grandparent. I always wanted to be younger and my children still don’t have any plans!!! I will be 62 this year. My sister who is older than me has 4 grandchildren and the oldest is 17. I had the pleasure of going to Europe 2 years ago. I loved Paris! Have a wonderful Easter.

    Like

  2. auntyuta says:

    Sounds like great trip to Paris. Reminds me of my bus-trip Berlin – Paris when I was nineteen! Yes, this was a long, long time ago. It was an organised bus-trip. We also stayed for about three days in Paris over Easter. I’m sure Ethan is going to enjoy it. Bon voyage, Ethan! Wishing all of you a great Easter!

    Like

  3. jodaley says:

    Hi Pam-Your link is not working in the HP list…if you want to correct it, and re link I’ll delete the first one. It comes up with a ‘You are not permitted to edit this page’ message. I arrived here via my reader.

    Wish I were tagging along in your son’s suitcase…well, except the bus/ferry crossing, but the Paris part definitely!

    Happy Easter!

    Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

