Wednesday Hodgepodge – 1st May


1. This week’s Hodgepodge is Volume 123. What’s something you’ve done recently that was as easy as 1-2-3?

I recently learned how to play a PowerPoint presentation on the TV screen in church whilst I led the prayers. It seemed a daunting thing to do before I started but once I went through it, it was a doddle! 1. Write the prayers, 2. Choose the pictures to accompany them and arrange them into a slide show, 3. Connect it all up and ask God to be indulgent if I mess it up!

2. The Wednesday Hodgepodge also happens to fall on the first day of May…what is something you may do this month?

We may be going away in the caravan for the first time since last Summer. The sunshine is just too inviting to refuse!!

3. The Englishman Horace Walpole is credited as saying, “The world is a tragedy to those who feel, but a comedy to those who think.”  How do you see it?

I would disagree with this statement because thinkers and feelers tend to see the world in ALL its glory, not just in terms of tragedy or comedy. I think if you’re a thinker you will just as much tragedy as a feeler and vice versa. I would say that the people who see the world as a comedy are the people who don’t operate in terms of emotion or contemplation at all.

I was thinking about something similar to this earlier on today as it happens. I am having a few difficulties with a close friend at the moment, we seem to be at odds with each other over the smallest thing, and I have come to the conclusion it’s because we start off from different angles in the first place. I start from an emotional point, and he starts from a functional one. It causes difficulties for us because my solution to problems is to contemplate them, reflect, get emotional and then move on whereas his solution is to be physical and functional. Exercise is anathema to me at the moment and I can’t see how it solves anything – he argues that sitting around moping makes you feel worse and isn’t as helpful as a lungful of fresh air. I think the correct way is somewhere in the middle of those two points, but as far as our friendship goes it makes life tetchy to say the least!

4. May is National Hamburger Month…how often do you eat a burger?  What are your must-haves when it comes to burgers?  I assume you vegetarians won’t be celebrating so tell us what you’d like instead?

It’s different here in England, we tend to cook “beefburgers” for dinner (the patty in a hamburger) and “hamburgers” are those things we either get from McDonalds or barbecued beefburgers in buns in back gardens in the Summer. If we have them at home I just like them with a bit of salad and ketchup but McDonalds I love the double cheeseburgers and the quarter pounders with cheese.

5. Pansies, petunias, geraniums, impatiens…of the four mentioned which is your favorite in a patio pot? Will there be pots on your patio this spring? (Or whenever spring comes to your part of the globe?)  Who does the gardening at your house?

My favourites are pansies because they are so cheerful and are difficult to kill. I can’t stand geraniums – their smell is awful!

We tend to have herbs in pots on our deck. My favourite is rosemary, especially when it has been warmed in the sun all afternoon. The sunshine releases its natural oils and it makes the whole space smell beautiful.

6. When did you last (literally or figuratively) shout “Mayday, Mayday!”

We had an incident on Saturday night where my daughter spilled two FULL cups of tea in the kitchen. She shouted for help because she not only broke the two cups and spilled their contents, but she managed to get it in three drawers and two cupboards as well as all over the kitchen floor. We didn’t know about the cupboards until Sunday afternoon when I went to get the pots to cook tea…. When she shouted for help it was a really panicky “help! Hellllllp!! Mum heeeeeeeeellllllllllllp!!” The amount of liquid spilled – and the distance it travelled – put me in mind of a ship on the high seas….tsk….

7. Say farewell to your April in ten words or less.

You have not been my friend this year. Try harder!!

8.  Insert your own random thought here. 

We said goodbye to Bella on Monday afternoon. She had a cancerous tumour removed this time last year and we were told that the cancer was so aggressive and had spread throughout her body, and that we should make preparations to say goodbye to her within about six weeks. Well, twelve months later she had defied that prognosis until she got just too ill over the weekend, and the heartbreaking decision had to be taken. She was an exceptional dog who touched so many lives and spread so much love she will never, ever be forgotten. I will blog about her more fully when it isn’t as painful to write about her, but for now, here is a favourite picture of her.

bella

 

7 thoughts on “Wednesday Hodgepodge – 1st May

Add yours

    1. Thank you debby. We used to refer to her as our “furry human” because she was so soulful and such a big part of our family. She is in a far better place now though, and the thought that her spirit lives on is very comforting.

      Like

  1. I enjoyed reading your answers.
    I am so sorry about Bella. That is a really good picture of her, what a beautiful dog she was.
    I know what you mean about the spilled tea, my husband spilled his drink the other night and we thought we had it all up until the next day when we discovered sticky spots on the other side of the room and the couch. He has also spilled coffee down the front of the kitchen cabinets before and it was a mess to clean up, I had to was all of the silverware in the drawer and the drawer wasn’t even open when he spilled the coffee.

    Like

    1. Haha! Sorry for laughing but yup, we did the same. The drawers were closed when she made the spill so it seeped along the joints and dripped through to the ones underneath without us realising. It’s amazing how far a drink can go!!

      And thank you for your comments about Bella. She will be missed for a long time by us all. She was so photogenic so we have a lot of pictures of her to remember her by thankfully!

      Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama! All images on the site are copyright to Brendan. Please credit any useage, or ask.

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

