Daybook Entry – 24th May


Daybook Entry

FOR TODAY

Outside my window… currently it is bright sunshine but high winds. Give it 30 seconds and it will be torrential rain and semi-dark again.

I am thinking… about the aftermath of the brutal murder of Lee Rigby on Wednesday this week.

I am thankful… for the three women who defied the killers and went to his aid. Even in the face of such barbaric savagery, their human-ness shone through and I am thankful that his last moments on earth were in the company of kindness and love.

In the kitchen… it seems such a trivial thing to write about with the thoughts I have in my head at the moment, but I suppose we will be having something simple for tea tonight. Omelettes or something.

I am wearing… jogging pants and a dark blue polo shirt.

I am creating… still working on the blankets for Emma. They are coming along sloooooowly!

I am going… to band tonight. I’m expecting a small band because tonight is Whit Friday and a few players will be playing with other bands at the march contests in Saddleworth.

I am wondering… whether Kevin will be home early tonight. He had a late night last night and an early morning this morning meaning he only got about 4 hours sleep and he will be shattered.

I am reading… “Inferno” by Dan Brown, which I’m reading for pleasure, and I’ve got a handful of other reading materials I’m working through for research and learning to do with my prayer and spirituality training for the church. I am getting together some bits and pieces for working with children and I have got a cracking little book on guided meditations for them. I can’t wait to try them out.

I am hoping… things will slot into place easily with timings this weekend. It’s going to be a bit of a hectic one and I get stressed when everything is tight.

I am praying for… Lee Rigby and his family; Ruth’s granddaughter Holly; Ruby; for my daughter Emma.

I am looking forward to… having some time on Monday where I have no obligations, no duties, nothing I have to do other than just relax and enjoy some time with my family. Might have a barbecue if the weather improves.

I am learning… how to pray publicly and with confidence.

Around the house… we need a magic wand and/or a magic housekeeper to come and pay a visit.

I am pondering… whether to take my cornet to band tonight so I can have a blow. It has been a while but I’m not sure my tummy can take the pressure. We’ll see.

A favourite quote for today:

thank you

Found on https://www.facebook.com/TGTILCBT

One of my favourite things… is hugging my daughter.

A few plans for the rest of the week: band tonight, administration training tomorrow morning, Todmorden carnival in the afternoon, I’m leading the service at church on Sunday morning, travelling to Liverpool to see the Battle of the Atlantic celebrations which Emma is taking part in, Monday possibly some downtime in the garden with a barbecue and a fire.

A peek into my day… I want to share with you some words and a picture of the murdered soldier, Lee Rigby. You will all have read or heard about the attack in Woolwich earlier this week. I was shocked when I first heard about it, and the circumstances in which he died were too horrific to think about. The shock and grief was made worse when his name was released the day later.

I don’t know about you but when things like this happen we can digest it only as long as there isn’t a name attached, but as soon as the victim is named it becomes more personal and the anguish is intensified, which is what happened when the press released Lee’s name as the victim here. They said he was from Manchester, which makes it more personal again, but when they said he was from Middleton it really was brought right up to my own doorstep.

I then saw a picture of him and I recognised him straight away as one of the young people I worked with at Middleton Technoloy School. I knew him with a different surname back then, and I remember him and two of his sisters where I worked. I remember Lee as being a magnetic personality – a cheeky lad who was lively and always visible whenever he was in school.

My soul hurts to know that a young man could be savagely killed in the way that Lee was, and the realisation that I knew him myself and worked with him when he was a teenager is awful. His family are in torment and the pain of that is intolerable to think about. He was greatly loved and will be missed tremendously by everyone who knew him. 

Lee is the second young man the school has lost serving in our armed forces, the first being Tony Downes in 2007. Please keep them in your prayers.

Rest in peace soldier.

lee rigby mcclure

 

 

Come and join us at  http://thesimplewomansdaybook.blogspot.com/ and join in!!

About Pam Smith

I am a Christian and currently exploring vocation. I am a writer, I conduct a brass band, I am an avid reader and when I'm not doing any of those things I crochet with a fierce passion. I am mum to two fantastic young adults, celebrating my Silver wedding anniversary in 2016 with my husband. I recently gained my Bachelor of Arts with honours.
This entry was posted in Daybook and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Daybook Entry – 24th May

  1. dderbydave says:

    All so sad.
    As for your house I’d lend you the Tidy Fairy who works here but she seems to be on holiday at the moment.

    Like

  2. Andy says:

    My two eldest children are in Middleton Technology. Is Tony Downes commemorated in any way there? I live on Langley, and the community is in shock. Like everybody everywhere, there was that initial horror as the story and the footage unfolded. And then when the soldier was named as Lee Rigby the realisation and disbelief hit everyone.

    Like

    • sterlingsop says:

      Hi Andy, there was a book of condolence opened at the time for Tony and he is commemorated on the school website but as far as I know there isn’t anything there at the school itself. It’s been about three years since I was last there so there might be something now, but I doubt it. It’s a small world isn’t it?! I may know your children but only if they were there before 2010. I worked on the pastoral and admin side of the school and was in day to day contact with most of the kids and the families in a non-teaching dimension. I miss the kids and the work, and I like to keep up to date with what they’re up to outside of school. God bless the Middleton Guardian!

      > Date: Fri, 24 May 2013 16:39:10 +0000 > To: sterlingsop@hotmail.com >

      Like

  3. Pingback: Day Book Entry 7:30 Saturday 25th May | Dave's (almost) Daily Drivel

  4. That must have been such a terrible shock to realize that you knew him. Monday is Memorial Day here in the US, and Lee Rigby will certainly be remembered!

    Like

    • sterlingsop says:

      That would be lovely, thank you.

      As the story unfolded it was one shock after another, and to realise that he was one of “my boys” from school….well, you can imagine. There has been a massive response from the public here, and his family must be feeling they are not alone in grieving him. Incidentally, the unit Lee was with (the Fusiliers) has its HQ in Bury, near Manchester. My daughter Emma plays with the Fusiliers band there as a volunteer. She didn’t know Lee, but it just goes to show how small our world really is. I would hope that the band would be involved in some sort of tribute concert or ceremony to him soon.

      Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

