Daybook Entry – 9th June


Daybook Entry

 

 

 

 

FOR TODAY

Outside my window… there is glorious sunshine dappling my back garden, which is in partial shade from the pine tree on the boundary with next door’s garden. I can hear the pine cones cracking in the heat and the sounds of some children playing in a garden not too far away. There is a gentle breeze blowing and every now and again a collared dove comes and settles on my bird table.

I am thinking… how wonderful it is to be alive.

I am thankful… for my banding friends who have made today a super experience.

In the kitchen… we have had pasta with a carbonara sauce with a salad of rocket, tomatoes, cucumber and celery. Sounds like quite a mixture of tastes but believe me, it was lovely!

I am wearing… shorts and a t-shirt.

I am creating… there is a lack of creative projects on the go at the minute, which is something I need to put right soon.

I am going… to go and sit in the garden shortly whilst Kevin takes some pictures of things we’re putting on eBay.

I am planning… where we are going to on holiday this year. Finance is very much an issue so we are going to have to be careful, but some time by the sea would do me the world of good right now. We’re thinking about Norfolk. We’ve been to Cromer before and we loved that coastline so we might head back there again this year.

I am wondering… how to go about recapturing my creative mojo.

I am reading… “The Thorn Birds” by Colleen McCullough. It has been on my “to read” list for years but for some reason I’ve never got round to it. I had started to read “Gone With The Wind” last week and the idea to read this popped into my head when I read about Scarlett waiting for her Dad in the dark at the gateway to their plantation. There are similarities between the stories – Irish descendants, plantation/estate, family hardships etc – and I remembered watching “The Thorn Birds” when I was a child in the 1980’s. I’m about 20% of the way through and am loving it. Whenever I start to read I am right there in the Australian Outback with them tasting the dust and swatting the flies in the height of summer. I’ll do a proper book review of it later on, but if you’ve read it too please drop me a line and let me know what you think. Similarly if you remember Richard Chamberlain as Father Ralph please share your thoughts with me.

I am hoping… this lovely weather holds for a few more days yet.

I am praying for… Danny’s family and loved ones; Nelson Mandela; Prince Philip; my Gran; my cousin G.

I am looking forward to… time at the seaside in the summer.

I am learning… not to feel guilty when I’m resting. At the moment the only way I can manage my pain is to take proper rest in between activities and to manage what activities I actually undertake. The downside of it is that I feel awful about the stuff I have to leave undone, so the lesson I’m learning at the moment is to ease up on myself and to not feel guilty about it. It’s not easy!

Around the house… most of the windows are open, most of the laundry is done, most of the washing up is done, most of our shoes and bags are put away…it’s a “mostly” home at the moment.

I am pondering… on the schedule for our Sunday School lessons over the summer. I want to plan a program that will be flexible depending on the number of kids present, yet structured so we can have a definite start, middle and end.

Today’s Golden Moment: Was when the audience spontaneously clapped in unison at the right times when we played “Is This The Way To Amarillo”. Love it!!

One of my favourite things… is brass bands in the park on Sunday afternoons.

A few plans for the rest of the week: Stay and Play in the morning; a communion service for the residents of a care centre later in the morning; a church meeting at lunchtime; work on Wednesday and Friday; band on Friday night.

Picture of the day:

Cromer beach
Cromer beach

I chose this picture because it was taken at Cromer the last time we were there and I’m really looking forward to going again this summer, all being well. It’s a lovely place. So peaceful and the views are wonderful. Bring on the summer!

 

Come and join us at  http://thesimplewomansdaybook.blogspot.com/ and join in!!

2 thoughts on “Daybook Entry – 9th June

Add yours

    1. I can confirm that we are indeed going to the seaside this summer…. yay!!!!!! I can’t wait. I absolutely love the sea and we are so lucky that living on this tiny island it’s never too far away. Having a holiday there is something else entirely though. All that fresh air, stunning views, relaxing sounds of the waves crashing on the beaches and rocks, the donuts and the burgers…. oh wow I can’t wait!!

      Like

I'd love to hear your view, please leave a comment!

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

stuff i tell my sister

This blog is about stuff. Random thoughts and photos from an Oklahoma gal.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

adventures in theatreland

What I saw, what I thought...

The Simple Life Of Smith

The Blog Of My Life Here On Planet Earth

St Peter's, St Paul's and St Andrews, Blackley

Parish churches of Blackley, Manchester

Brendan Ball's Blog o-iii<0

Trumpeter, Urban Farmer & Art Enthusiast. Brendan plays exclusively on trumpet mouthpieces custom made for him by Toshiaki Kameyama! All images on the site are copyright to Brendan. Please credit any useage, or ask.

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

